Karunanidhi, Ramadoss Opposes Invite to Rajapaksa

Published: 23rd May 2014 05:16 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd May 2014 07:24 PM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: DMK president M. Karunanidhi, PMK founder S. Ramadoss and MDMK leader Vaiko Friday attacked India's decision to invite Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa to the swearing in ceremony of Narendra Modi as India's new prime minister Monday.

The three leaders added voice to the objection raised a day earlier by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK leader J. Jayalalithaa. All of them blame Rajapaksa for the alleged deaths of thousands of Tamils in the war against the Tamil Tigers that ended in 2009.

The invitation to Rajapaksa and his decision to attend the Monday ceremony cannot be welcomed by the people of Tamil Nadu, Karunanidhi said in a statement issued here. 

Ramadoss urged the government to revisit the invite to Rajapaksa. He said he should have never been invited at the first place.

Vaiko flew into New Delhi Friday and met BJP president Rajnath Singh to express outrage over the invitation extended to the Sri Lankan president.

"When Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the prime minister, he did not invite the Sri Lankan president for his swearing-in ceremony. Why is he being invited now?" Vaiko asked at a media meet here.

An ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Vaiko described Rajapaksa as a "butcher of Tamils" and accused him of committing "genocide of thousands of Tamil women, children and unarmed people".

"It will be the saddest day for Tamil Nadu and Tamils all over the world when Rajapaksa comes to India," he said.

All major political parties in Tamil Nadu barring the BJP and the Congress have opposed Rajapaksa visit.

On Thursday, Jayalalithaa termed the invitation "unfortunate" and said it was "tantamount to rubbing salt into the wounds of an already deeply injured Tamil psyche".

Heads of government of all eight South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) countries, Sri Lanka included, have been invited to Modi's swearing-in ceremony Monday.

Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh have accepted the invitation. Pakistan is yet to decide.

Also Read:

Wigneswaran Not to Accompany Rajapaksa for Modi's Swearing-in 

More from Tamil Nadu.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp