63 Candidates Elected Unopposed

Published: 11th September 2014 06:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 11th September 2014 06:06 AM   |  A+A-

VELLORE: As many as 63 candidates from Vellore district, who had contested for the local body by-elections on September 18, were declared elected unopposed on Monday. The election was to take place for 95 vacant posts in the district and of them 63 have been elected unopposed. For the remaining 32 posts, the election would be held as per the schedule.

For the post of councillors in Ward 2 in Alangayam town panchayat, Ward 7 in Kalavai town panchayat and Ward 8 in Natrampalli town panchayat, only one nomination for each was received and as such they were declared elected unopposed. Similarly for the post of union council ward member, only one nomination each from Ward 1 and 19 in K V Kuppam was received and both have been declared elected.

For the village panchayat ward members post, as many as 58 nominations were declared elected unopposed. The election would be held for post of Arakkonam municipal chairman, being contested by an AIADMK candidate and four independents while three are in the fray for the post of councillor’s for 35 ward in Vaniyambadi.

For the ward member post in Timiri town panchayat, four candidates are contesting and for ward 8 in K V Kuppam, four are in the fray. Two candidates each are contesting for president of Punnapadi post in Arcot union, Binnathangal in Timiri union and four are in fray for president post for Thellur panchayat in Vellore union.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp