BJP Mayor Candidate for Nellai Joins AIADMK

Published: 13th September 2014 06:03 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th September 2014 06:03 AM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: Within days after rattling the saffron party by withdrawing from the mayoral race for Tirunelveli Corporation,  GPR Vellaiyammal along with her husband Ganesa Perumal Raja, former secretary, BJP’s traders wing, entered the AIADMK fold during an audience with party general secretary J Jayalalithaa at her Poes Garden residence on Friday.

Fielded by the BJP, Vellaiyammal withdrew her nomination ensuring the election of AIADMK’s mayoral candidate E Bhuvaneswari unopposed.

Meanwhile, Neethi Xavier, BJP candidate for Ward No.166 in Chennai Corporation who too had withdrawn his nomination, joined the AIADMK. Apart from these BJP functionaries, many from the Congress, DMDK, PMK and MDMK also joined the AIADMK. Jayalalithaa welcomed them into the party fold by presenting them membership cards.

Meanwhile, E Bhuvaneswari, who was elected unopposed as Mayor of Tirunelveli Corporation, D Saravanakumar, R Rajasekaran, M Sridhar and VM Rajalakshmi who have been elected unopposed as chairpersons of Coonoor, Pudukottai, Kodaikkanal and Sankarankovil municipalities respectively and M Kumanan, elected unopposed as the president of Abhiramam town panchayat in Ramanathapuram district called on the Chief Minister at the Secretariat.

Functionaries from other parties who embraced the AIADMK include AG Mathiyalagan, secretary, PMK’s Puducherry unit, AICC member and former chairperson of Puducherry Women’s Commission S Kamalini and DMDK’s Salem East district women’s wing secretary Umaraji.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp