AIADMK Sweeps Civic Bye-elections to Various Civic Bodies

Published: 22nd September 2014 05:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd September 2014 05:53 PM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: Ruling AIADMK today swept bye-elections to various civic bodies, including two Corporations, with party chief J Jayalalithaa terming the voters' verdict as their 'endorsement' of her more than three-year-old government's performance.

When votes polled in the elections held on September 18 for more than 500 casual vacancies in both urban and rural civic bodies were counted today, AIADMK romped home in most seats.

It retained Thoothukudi (Tuticorin) and Coimbatore Mayor posts, according to results announced by State Election Commission.

The AIADMK candidate for the Tirunelveli Corporation Mayor post had been elected unopposed earlier after the BJP rival withdrew from the contest.

DMK had boycotted the elections while BJP, with support from allies PMK and MDMK, and Left parties faced the contest.BJP levelled allegations against AIADMK including 'intimidation' of its candidates leading to withdrawals.

Extending its winning streak since the May 2011 Assemblyelections, AIADMK secured wins in many civic bodies including municipalities. Many of its candidates had been elected unopposed.

In a thanksgiving message to the voters, Jayalalithaa said that the victory was their endorsement of her government and herself who was working for the sole aim of their welfare.

"I thank voters for further strengthening my hands and endorsing (the party's) good governance," she said.

AIADMK's Mayor candidates for Thoothukudi and Coimbatore,A P R Anthony Gracy and Ganapathi P Rajkumar, secured handsome victories against their nearest BJP and Left rivals.

Former Mayors of Thoothukudi (Tuticorin) and Tirunlveli,Sasikala Pushpa and Vijila Sathyananth, had been elected to Rajya Sabha in April this year while former Coimbatore Mayor, S M Velusamy, had quit the post.

Incidentally, BJP's candidate for Tirunelvelu Mayor post,G P R Vellaiyammal, had quit the electoral race, allowing AIADMK's E Bhuvaneswari to be elected unopposed.

Vellaiyammal and her husband, also a former state BJP office-bearer, later quit the party and joined AIADMK.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp