Tamil Nadu: MLAs loyal to Dhinakaran vacate resort, move into hotel near Marapalam

The legislators moved out of the resort as it was already booked for the weekend, sources told PTI.

Published: 25th August 2017 08:56 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th August 2017 08:56 PM   |  A+A-

File image of AIADMK MLAs supporting the party’s sidelined deputy general secretary TTV Dhinakaran arriving at a resort in Puducherry. (File Photo | EPS/G PATTABIRAMAN)


PUDUCHERRY/CHENNAI: Eighteen AIADMK MLAs loyal to sidelined deputy general secretary TTV Dhinakaran today vacated the seaside resort, where they were putting up since Tuesday, and checked into a hotel.     

The legislators moved out of the resort as it was already booked for the weekend, sources said.         

Police were deployed in strength at the hotel near Marapalam in the Mudaliarpet Assembly constituency here.     

Earlier in the day, the DMK urged Tamil Nadu Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao to immediately direct Chief Minister K Palaniswami to prove his majority in the Assembly in the wake of revolt by the MLAs, saying any delay could lead to "horse trading".         

The Chief Government Whip had yesterday sought the disqualification of the 19 dissident MLAs for alleged anti- party activities.     

In a swift response, Speaker P Dhanapal had issued notice to the MLAs, 18 of whom had been staying at the resort since they met Rao on Tuesday and expressed lack of confidence in Palaniswami.         

The Speaker had sought their replies within seven days.         

The rebels had termed the move to disqualify them as a "planned drama" and said they would legally challenge it.     

DMK working president and leader of the opposition in the assembly M K Stalin today dubbed the Palaniswami dispensation a "minority government".         

In a statement in Chennai, he also questioned the Speaker's decision to issue notices to the MLAs.       

The DMK leader said the Governor should ensure that Palaniswami does not continue in power by "creating a constitutional crisis and misusing anti-defection law".         

The Dhinakaran camp MLAs had raised the banner of revolt after the AIADMK factions led by Palaniswami and former chief minister O Panneerselvam merged on August 21.     

Of the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly, the AIADMK has 134 MLAs. There is no one representing the RK Nagar constituency in the House.         

The DMK has 89 seats, Congress eight and IUML one.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp