EPS government gets yet another breather but ruling AIADMK is staring at a mini general election

While the verdict came as a shocker for AMMK led by TTV Dhinakaran and the disqualified MLAs, it was jubilant time for the ruling AIADMK.

Published: 25th October 2018 12:26 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th October 2018 12:26 PM   |  A+A-

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam. (Photo | KK Sundar)

Express News Service

CHENNAI: Ever since the government headed by Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami assumed office on February 16, 2016, it has been an example of Tamil proverb ‘nithyakandam poorna ayushu’ (survival on a day to day basis).   

Today, the verdict of the Madras High Court on the disqualification of 18 MLAs has added to the meaning of this proverb. Yes, the EPS government in Tamil Nadu got yet another breather from the HC. The last breather this government got from the court was on June 14 with the HC giving a split verdict on the disqualification of these MLAs.  

While the verdict came as a shocker for Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) led by TTV Dhinakaran and the disqualified MLAs, it was jubilant time for the ruling AIADMK. Senior ministers including P Thangamani, SP Velumani and R Udhayakumar celebrated the moment by distributing sweets.  Reacting to the verdict, Law Minister CV Shanmugam said the court had taught a befitting lesson for the betrayers of the AIADMK.

Though the EPS government got a breather now, in fact, there is a burden lurking on it - to face a mini general election by way of by-elections to 20 Assembly constituencies including the two for Tirupparankundram and Tiruvarur in next six months or even before that. Further, today, the HC verdict also vacated the stay on holding a by-election to the 18 Assembly constituencies. But it depends on the decision of the 18 disqualified MLAs which is expected to be taken in a day or two.

Now the principal opposition party DMK may not move a no-confidence motion against the government now. With the HC upholding the disqualification of 18 MLAs, the effective strength of the Tamil Nadu Assembly has come down to 214.  So, the simple majority to win a confidence motion in the Assembly will be 108. Since the ruling party has 109 MLAs, there is no danger to this government.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • Raghu

    ‘nithyakandam poorna ayushu’ means - Every day threat to life
    1 year ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp