IAS officers appointed to monitor revision of photo electoral rolls

The Election Commission of India has appointed 10 IAS officers to monitor the ongoing special summary revision of photo electoral rolls 2021.

Published: 20th November 2020 04:43 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th November 2020 04:43 AM   |  A+A-

Election Commission of India

Election Commission of India (File Photo | PTI)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: The Election Commission of India has appointed 10 IAS officers to monitor the ongoing special summary revision of photo electoral rolls 2021. According to a statement from the Chief Electoral Officer of Tamil Nadu, the observers will monitor the revision process in the districts allocated to them.

They will make at least three visits to the districts allocated to them during the entire period of revision. They will visit some of the polling stations, convene meetings with representatives of political parties and meet the public for any roll related complaints/issues. They will later submit a report to the Election Commission of India.  

The following are the observers who have been appointed: Dr Atul Anand,  Commissioner of Economics & Statistics, has been appointed observer for Chennai, Tiruvallur, Kancheepuram and Chengalpattu districts;  R. Kirlosh Kumar, Managing Director, Tamil Nadu Slum Clearance Board has been appointed for Villupuram, Kallakurichi, Vellore, Tirupattur and Ranipet districts; Sigy Thomas Vaidhyan, Managing Director, Tamil Nadu Industrial Investment Corporation Limited, has been appointed for Madurai, Theni, Virudhunagar districts; M.S. Shanmugam, Commissioner of Museums, has been appointed for Nagapattinam, Thanjavur and Tiruvarur districts; Jothi Nirmalasamy, Managing Director, Tamil Nadu Corporation for Development of Women Limited, has been appointed for Kanniyakumari, Thoothukudi, Tirunelveli and Tenkasi districts.

 M. Vallalar, Commissioner, Milk Production & Dairy Development Department, has been appointed for Dharmapuri, Krishnagiri, Salem and Tiruvannamalai; S. Sivashanmugaraja, Managing Director, TNPL, has been appointed for Namakkal, Karur and Dindigul; T. Abraham, Commissioner of Social Welfare, has been appointed for Ramanathapuram, Pudukkottai and Sivaganga districts; M. Karunakaran, Director of Handlooms & Textiles, has been appointed for Coimbatore, Nilgiris, Tirupur and Erode districts; Sajjansingh R. Chavan, Commissioner of Civil Supplies & Consumer Protection, has been appointed for Ariyalur, Perambalur, Tiruchy and Cuddalore districts. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp