Rangasamy finalises cabinet, submits list of members to Puducherry Lt Governor

Rangasamy's cabinet would now be a six-member ministry with four from AINRC, including the chief minister and two from the BJP.

Published: 23rd June 2021 12:48 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd June 2021 12:59 PM   |  A+A-

N Rangasamy is set to be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Puducherry.

Puducherry CM N Rangasamy (Photo| EPS)


PUDUCHERRY: Ending more than a month's suspense, the cabinet formation in Puducherry finally took shape on Wednesday with Chief Minister N Rangasamy submitting a list of members to be included in his ministry, including two BJP MLAs, to Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan.

Though the AINRC-led NDA had swept the April 6 Assembly polls in this union territory, the cabinet formation dragged on for long as the saffron party initially insisted for a deputy CM post for one of its MLAs but later settled for the post of the Assembly Speaker.

Soon after leading his alliance to a win, AINRC founder Nangasamy was sworn-in as chief minister on May 6 while BJP's 'Embalam' R Selvam was elected unopposed as Speaker of the Puducherry Assembly on June 16.

On Wednesday, Rangasamy submitted the names of persons to be inducted in his led cabinet to Soundararjan and it would now be a six-member ministry with four from AINRC, including the chief minister and two from the BJP.

According to official sources, the Lt Governor would send the list to the Union Home Ministry, which would forward it to the President for his nod as per procedure relating to the Union Territory.

The AINRC and BJP constituting the NDA together have a strength of 16 MLAs and enjoy the support of three nominated legislators belonging to the saffron party.

The BJP's representatives in the cabinet would include A Namassivayam, a paty source said.

Details of names of the remaining BJP member and those from AINRC are awaited.



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp