Newly-elected ward members of Pitchivilai village condemn SC reservation, resign

One ward member had not yet sworn in due to personal reasons.

Published: 24th October 2021 04:17 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th October 2021 04:17 AM   |  A+A-

reservation reservation jobs

Representational Image. (File Photo)

By Express News Service

THOOTHUKUDI: Days after the swearing in ceremony, five ward members of Pitchivilai village panchayat tendered in their resignation letters with the panchayat president Rajeswari to protest against the reservation of the panchayat for Scheduled Caste (SC).

One ward member had not yet sworn in due to personal reasons. When asked, Tiruchendur Revenue Divisional Officer Kohila said the resignation letters were not accepted and dialogue is on to convince the elected members to not resign. 

It is pertinent to note that the resident of the Pitchivilai village, which has a majority of backward class people, boycotted the rural body election for the president and ward members posts in 2019. However, the 10 votes polled in the 2019 election had determined the victory of the Scheduled Caste president Rajeswari. None of the villagers filed their nominations for the ward members then.

Success streak continues

After sweeping the elections to the rural local bodies in 9 districts, the DMK and allies continued their winning streak in the indirect elections. Here is the final party position

Total No. of district panchayat president posts: 9

  • DMK: 9

Total No. of district panchayat vice-president posts: 9

  • DMK: 6
  • Congress: 2
  • VCK: 1

Total No. of panchayat union president posts: 73

  • DMK: 68
  • AIADMK and Congress: 1 each
  • Elections deferred: 3

Total No. of panchayat union vice-president posts: 73

  • DMK: 62
  • Congress: 3 
  • AIADMK: 1
  • Independents: 2
  • Elections deferred: 5

Casual elections
In the casual indirect elections to the district panchayat vice-president posts in Coimbatore, Erode and Namakkal, DMK won in Erode and Namakkal and the AIADMK in Coimbatore. In the casual indirect elections to the five panchayat union president posts, the DMK won in four and Congress in one. In the casual elections to the 10 panchayat union vice-president posts, the DMK won in seven places, AIADMK and PMK won one each while an Independent won one.

(Read full story on

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp