Ahead of Ladakh-Leh elections, 300 BJP leaders, workers resign

Two more senior party members Manzoor Hussain and Mumtaz Hussain also resigned to protest alleged favouritism in allotment of tickets for the council polls.

Published: 04th October 2020 09:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th October 2020 09:08 AM   |  A+A-

BJP Flag

BJP Flags (Representational Photo | PTI)

SRINAGAR:  Ahead of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC)-Leh polls in Ladakh Union Territory, the BJP has suffered setback in the cold desert as over 300 workers including two former councilors and some core members have resigned from the party.The saffron party has dropped some former councilors and given tickets to new faces for the LAHDC-Leh polls which would be held in 26 seats on October 16. It has angered the workers and former councilors, who have been left out.

The BJP’s former councilor from  Saspol constituency Tsering Angdus announced his resignation a few days back. Another former BJP councilor Lobzang Nyantak also quit the party. The LADHC-Leh comprises 30 members – 26 elected and four nominated. In the outgoing LAHDC-Leh, BJP had 18 councillors. 

Among those who resigned from the party includes BJP vice president Leh Sonam Ponchuk Wanla
In his resignation letter, Sonam wrote, “I have found working for BJP a matter of great pride and endless satisfaction for myself. However, I am finding it difficult to reconcile with the current functioning of the party.”

Two more senior party members Manzoor Hussain and Mumtaz Hussain also resigned to protest alleged favoritism in allotment of tickets for the council polls. “The party did not choose right candidates from some constituencies and resorted to favouritism. We cannot support those candidates and have decided to quit the party,” they wrote in their resignation letter.The BJP’s core member in Ladakh Syeda Ladakhi, who was a nominated councilor in the outgoing LAHDC Leh has also resigned from the party.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp