Assam Assembly

Assam Assembly passes bills to create 3 separate autonomous councils

All the autonomous councils in Assam are named after the respective communities like Rabha-Hasong, Tiwa, Mising, Moran, Matak.

published on : 3rd September 2020

Assam polls: For BJP, performance and popularity of MLAs will prove the deciding factor

BJP stalwart and the state’s Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma made it clear that all sitting MLAs of the party will not get tickets. 

published on : 25th August 2020

No bother for new party, says Assam’s ruling BJP

The state’s Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma exuded confidence the BJP and its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) would win 100 of the state’s 126 seats.

published on : 19th January 2020

Assam Congress MLA slits palm to write anti-government slogans with blood over firm privatisation

Mariani MLA, Rupjyoti Kurmi, told journalists that he was aggrieved that the government was planning to sell the two public sector undertakings, Nagaon Paper Mill and Cachar Paper Mill.

published on : 3rd December 2019