Assam elections 2021

Congress, AIUDF are like Mughals; need to be defeated: Tejasvi Surya in Assam

The Congress has formed an alliance with Lok Sabha MP Badruddin Ajmal-led All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and other parties against the BJP-led coalition in the state.

published on : 1st March 2021

Congress-led Grand Alliance expanded in Assam with inclusion of BPF, RJD

The Congress had earlier formed Grand Alliance with AIUDF, CPI, CPI(M), CPI(ML) and Anchalik Gana Morcha (AGM) to fight the Assembly polls against the BJP-helmed NDA.

published on : 28th February 2021

BJP looking to achieve 'Mission East' in Bengal, make inroads in South

BJP leaders feel that a better performance in these polls will be a big boost for the party in pushing its reform agenda set in the recently presented Union Budget.

published on : 27th February 2021

1.08 lakh 'D' voters will not be allowed to vote in Assam polls: CEO

The figure of D-voters has decreased in comparison to the number of 1.13 lakh provided in the state assembly last year.

published on : 27th February 2021

EC keeps in 'abeyance' transfer orders of 12 IPS, six APS officers in poll-bound Assam

The commission has announced the schedule of elections in five states, including Assam, and accordingly, the model code of conduct came into force with immediate effect.

published on : 27th February 2021

RJD to contest Assam polls aiming Hindi-speaking voters: Tejashwi Yadav

Yadav, during his maiden visit to Guwahati, said he has already met Congress Assam chief Ripun Bora and will hold talks with the AIUDF to formalise the alliance.

published on : 27th February 2021

EC announces poll dates: TN, Kerala, Bengal, Assam and Puducherry results on May 2

The results of all the elections will be known on May 2. West Bengal will have an eight-phase election, TN, Kerala and Puducherry single-phase elections, and Assam a three-phase election.

published on : 26th February 2021

Flood-free Assam among Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s poll promises

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Thursday said Assam will be made flood-free if BJP retains power in the state.

published on : 26th February 2021

AFSPA extended in poll-bound Assam for another six months

The release did not cite any particular reason for the extension, but sources said that it was in view of the assembly elections due in April-May and recovery of arms and ammunitions.

published on : 24th February 2021

Congress' anti-CAA 'gamochas' campaign picks up in poll-bound Assam

Congres workers have collected the 'Gamochas' (traditional white and red woven cloth offered as an honour in Assam) as part of its door-to-door campaign.

published on : 24th February 2021

Modi 'migratory bird': Grand Alliance hits out at PM ahead of Assam polls

The comment was made after Modi paid his third visit in a month to the poll-bound state and dedicated to the nation a number of projects in different parts of the state.

published on : 22nd February 2021

Despite great potential, previous govts gave stepmotherly treatment to Assam, says PM Modi

The Prime Minister also announced that "Today, Assam is getting a gift of over Rs 3,000 crores for energy and educational institutions."

published on : 22nd February 2021

Brahmaputra not just a river but manifestation of Assam's diversity, peaceful coexistence: PM Modi

Modi said developing waterway connectivity under 'Mahabahu Brahmaputra' will provide an alternative route to connect the northeast with other parts of India and neighbouring countries.

published on : 18th February 2021

Not willing to contest assembly poll, informed BJP a year ago: Himanta Biswa Sarma

He, however, said that if the party decides to field him to contest the poll likely to be held in March-April, he will honour the decision.

published on : 18th February 2021

Assam polls: Badruddin Ajmal not anti-Hindu, BJP is more communal, says Congress

The Congress has formed an alliance with the All India United Democratic Front, the Left and a regional party to fight the Assam Assembly polls that are likely to be held in April.

published on : 15th February 2021
1 2 3 >