Goa Assembly Elections 2022

Pramod Sawant clear favourite as BJP to announce next Goa CM on Monday

Besides Sawant, the names of BJP MLA and former state health minister Vishwajit Rane, and Himachal Pradesh Governor Rajendra Arlekar, who hails from Goa, are being discussed for the CM's post.

published on : 21st March 2022

Girish Chodankar resigns as Goa Congress chief after party's rout in Assembly polls

Chodankar was at the helm of affairs of the Congress during the recent elections held for the 40-member Goa Assembly.

published on : 15th March 2022

Congress in more mess? Three days over since Goa poll results, party yet to decide its legislature leader

According to sources, the Goa Congress unit has not held a single meeting after it failed to reach the majority mark of 21 in the 40-member Assembly.

published on : 13th March 2022

Vishwajit Rane to be the new Goa CM? BJP leader meets Governor, sets rumour mill rolling

Rane has been projecting himself as a contender for the post of Goa chief minister after the BJP won 20 of the total 40 seats in the recent elections, sources said.

published on : 13th March 2022

Vote share intact, BJP makes inroads into Hindu and Christian belts in Goa

Out of the total of 20 seats, the grand old party won only five, after having secured victory in 10 of those five years ago. In North Goa, too, the Congress tally fell from seven to six.

published on : 13th March 2022

Pramod Sawant resigns as Goa Chief Minister; asked to continue as caretaker CM

Sawant met Governor P S Sreedharan Pillai at the Raj Bhavan around noon and submitted his resignation.

published on : 12th March 2022

76 to 716: Victory margins of BJP in 10 Goa constituencies, as per data

The victory margin remained below the 100-mark in two of these constituencies in the coastal state, where the assembly polls were held on February 14 and the results were declared on Thursday.

published on : 11th March 2022

BJP in Goa steps out of Parrikar’s shadow; Trinamool flops on its debut show

BJP’s Goa in-charge Devendra Fadnavis claimed the party has got a support letter from Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party which has two MLAs.

published on : 11th March 2022

Assembly elections: BJP set to score hattrick in Goa with MGP support

CM Pramod Sawant was trailing in Sanquelim constituency, while health minister Vishwajit Rane, a prominent contender or the CM's post, was leading in Valpoi constituency.

published on : 10th March 2022

MGP to emerge as kingmaker in Goa? BJP starts discussion with former ally as exit polls predict hung assembly in state 

In 2019, when Pramod Sawant became the CM, two MGP ministers were dropped from the state cabinet. This time, the MGP contested the state Assembly elections in alliance with the Trinamool.

published on : 8th March 2022

Resort politics back again as Congress makes grand plans to safeguard new Goa MLAs from poaching 

The party seems to have taken lessons from the 2017 Goa election, when slow decision-making by the leadership helped the BJP form government in the coastal state despite not having the numbers.

published on : 8th March 2022

'Open to post-poll alliance with non-BJP parties': Congress extends olive braches to AAP, Trinamool ahead of Goa results

The Congress had contested the election in alliance with the Goa Forward Party. Besides, the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC had tied-up with the MGP, Goa's oldest regional outfit, before the polls.

published on : 7th March 2022

Goa polls: Congress leaders meet Rahul Gandhi; MGP says it will not support Pramod Sawant as CM

The Grand Old Party is wary of a repeat of the 2017 situation when it emerged as the single largest party but was trumped by the BJP which cobbled together a coalition quicker.

published on : 5th March 2022

Will win 24-26 seats, CM will be chosen in half an hour, says Goa Congress chief

The Congress had emerged as the largest party in the 2013 Assembly polls but the BJP managed to form a government will allies, following which several MLAs from the Congress switched over.

published on : 2nd March 2022

Goa Congress chief says let down by HC order on disqualification of MLAs

Chodankar had filed a disqualification petition against 10 party MLAs who switched over to the BJP in July 2019. Another petition was filed by MGP MLA Sudin Dhavalikar.

published on : 28th February 2022
1 2 3 >