Karnataka Legislative Council

Karnataka Legislative Council passes anti-conversion bill

The Bill does not take away anyone's religious freedom and anyone can practice the religion of his or her choice, but not under pressure and allurements, Jnanendra said.

published on : 15th September 2022

Horatti, Malkapure in race for chairmanship of Karnataka Legislative Council

Interim chairman and two-time MLC Raghunath Rao Malkapure has emerged frontrunner for the Chairman’s post.

published on : 13th September 2022

Karnataka Legislative Council election: Congress gains on BJP faults, JDS fault lines

Textbook revision, hijab and other controversies went against the overconfident ruling party, JDS felled by its own rebels.

published on : 17th June 2022

Karnataka Legislative Council polls: Cong, BJP win one each

The result may go either way, depending on the second-preference votes.

published on : 16th June 2022

Karnataka: Claims of cash changing hands mar Council polls

 Counting of votes to be held tomorrow  Prestige of Bommai and Horatti is at stake  Polling peacefull with an overall average turnout of 73.25 per cent

published on : 14th June 2022

Karnataka MLC polls: Voting underway in graduates and teachers constituencies 

A total of 2,84,922 voters are expected to cast their votes in about 607 polling stations in the elections to four MLC seats. The counting of votes will take place on June 15.

published on : 13th June 2022

Seven candidates elected 'unopposed' to Karnataka Legislative Council, BJP gains majority in House

The declaration paved the way for the BJP to gain a majority in the Upper House as four out of the seven new members are from the ruling party, two from Congress and JDS one.

published on : 27th May 2022

BJP gives Horatti a warm welcome

Former chairman of the Karnataka Legislative Council, Basavaraj Horatti joined the BJP here on Wednesday, after severing long ties with the Janata Parivar.

published on : 19th May 2022

BJP MLC Raghunath Rao Malkapure appointed as interim chairman of Karnataka Legislative Council

Malkapure, who hails from Bidar district, is a two time MLC and he had also served in various party positions.

published on : 17th May 2022

Karnataka Legislative Council Chairman Basavaraj Horatti resigns

Karnataka Legislative Council Chairman, Basavaraj Horatti (76), submitted his resignation on Monday both as MLC and as chairman of the Council. He was set to retire in six weeks. 

published on : 17th May 2022

Horatti resigns as Chairman of Karnataka Legislative Council & MLC, to join BJP

Horatti said he has no misunderstanding with Deve Gowda or Kumaraswamy and has affection towards them. "I in fact spoke to Kumaraswamy, before making this decision."

published on : 16th May 2022

Karnataka Legislative Council Chairman Basavaraj Horatti ends ties with JDS, to join BJP

Basavaraj Horatti said he would join the BJP and likely be its candidate for the upcoming MLC polls from West Teachers' constituency.

published on : 3rd April 2022

Lokayukta to Gujarat: War of words rocks Karnataka Legislative Council

In reply, BJP members said it was the Congress that had finished the anti-corruption institution and they had no moral right to question it. 

published on : 17th March 2022