Maharashtra Legislative Council

Biennial polls to legislative councils in four states including Karnataka on December 10: EC

The term of office of the eight sitting members of the Maharashtra Legislative Council from seven local authorities' constituencies is going to expire on January 1 next year.

published on : 9th November 2021

Governor must accept MLC nominations irrespective of political issues: Maharashtra to HC

The governor ought to have accepted the nomination irrespective of any political issues or issues he may or may not have with the chief minister, the counsel told HC.

published on : 16th July 2021

Explain why Governor yet to decide on legislative council nominations: HC to Uddhav government

A bench of Justices SJ Kathawalla and SP Tavade directed the government to file its reply within two weeks explaining the reasons for the delay despite the 12 names having been submitted.

published on : 21st May 2021

Uproar in Maharashtra Legislative Council over Dhangar, Maratha quota

The Opposition MLCs started raising slogans and stormed into the Well of the council demanding reservation for the Dhangar community.

published on : 18th July 2018

Polling for six Maharashtra Legislative Council seats to be held tomorrow 

The election is held as three members of the NCP, two of the BJP, and one of the Congress, are retiring from the Upper House of the state legislature on June 21.

published on : 20th May 2018