Uttarakhand elections

AAP's CM candidate in Uttarakhand Assembly polls Colonel Ajay Kothiyal​ quits party

The former army officer announced his decision to quit the party on Twitter, posting a soft copy of his resignation letter on the microblogging site.

published on : 18th May 2022

Uttarakhand polls: BJP blames factionalism, internal sabotage for CM Pushkar Singh Dhami's defeat

BJP national general secretary BL Santosh is likely to visit Uttarakhand soon to hold meetings on the matter.

published on : 1st April 2022

Uttarakhand CM lost Assembly elections due to 'internal sabotage', concludes BJP committee

The party had decided to 'introspect and analyse' the reasons behind the defeat in 23 state assembly constituencies in Uttarakhand including Khatima where CM Pushkar Singh Dhami contested and lost

published on : 31st March 2022

Uttarakhand: Khanpur MLA Umesh Kumar's election challenged before HC

Despite a holiday on Friday, a Division Bench of Acting Chief Justice Sanjay Kumar Mishra and Justice Manoj Kumar Tiwari heard the petition through videoconferencing.

published on : 19th March 2022

Muslims made mistake in choosing right alternative: BSP on Uttarakhand loss

The BSP arrived at the conclusion at a meeting of office-bearers and workers of its Uttarakhand unit with party president Mayawati here to review its performance in the just concluded assembly polls.

published on : 14th March 2022

Harish Rawat expresses embarrassment over failure to guide party to victory in Uttarakhand

In a Facebook post before he left for Delhi to attend a meeting of the Congress Working Committee, Rawat, who also lost from the Lalkuwa seat, said he did not know how he would face Sonia Gandhi.

published on : 14th March 2022

Uttarakhand BJP chief Madan Kaushik in Delhi today amid speculations on CM choice

Meanwhile, Uttarakhand Irrigation Minister Satpal Maharaj and Cabinet minister Subodh Uniyal also left for Delhi while Union Minister Ajay Bhatt met senior leader BL Santhosh yesterday.

published on : 13th March 2022

Assembly polls debacle fallout: Congress' Dipika Pandey resigns after Uttarakhand rout

Singh, who is an MLA from Mahagama in Uttarakhand, expressed her gratitude to Congress' high command for giving the opportunity to serve the party.

published on : 13th March 2022

Pushkar Singh Dhami or another new face? BJP weighs options for Uttarakhand CM post

Party sources said Union ministers Piyush Goyal and Dharmendra Pradhan may be sent to the state as central observers to oversee the legislative party meeting to elect the new leader.

published on : 12th March 2022

Assembly polls 2022: Emergence of women as prominent force in Uttarakhand politics

The women MLAs who won include six from BJP, while two are from Congress. In 2002, there were four woman MLAs. It was the same in 2007. In 2012, the number rose to five.

published on : 12th March 2022

Harish Rawat: At helm of losing side in Uttarakhand

His outburst forced Congress leader Rahul Gandhi to step in and hold frantic parleys to brought about a truce between warring factions in the party ahead of the state Assembly polls.

published on : 11th March 2022

Uttarakhand elections: Aggressive campaign, divided Congress help BJP scale Himalayan state

Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami who lost his own Khatima seat announced that the new government will work on Uniform Civil Code.

published on : 11th March 2022

Uttarakhand polls: Congress turncoats do well, daughters of 2 former CMs avenge defeat of their fathers

Former Uttarakhand Congress president Kishore Upadhyay and former pradesh mahila Congress president Sarita Arya won their respective seats of Tehri and Nainital.

published on : 11th March 2022

Pushkar Singh Dhami: Played like MS Dhoni but gave away own wicket cheaply

Uttarakhand was then grappling with a series of problems and with elections just round the corner and Dhami ran against the clock.

published on : 10th March 2022

Assembly elections: BJP marching ahead in Uttarakhand, CM Dhami trailing

BJP's Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami was, however, trailing behind Bhuwan Chandra Kapri of the Congress by 954 votes in Khatima, according to trends available for all 70 seats in the state.

published on : 10th March 2022

Today’s results of five states could impact Karnataka polls

While this depends on how the BJP performs on Thursday, some party leaders rule out such a scenario.

published on : 10th March 2022

BJP's performance will exceed exit polls projections: Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami

Pushkar Singh Dhami said the party had set itself a target of winning more than sixty seats in Uttarakhand this time and it still has that goal in mind.

published on : 8th March 2022

Vijayvargiya’s visit triggers talks of ‘Plan B’ in Uttarakhand ahead of poll results

The BJP general secretary, also known as ‘political spin doctor’, met the state’s top party leaders including Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami and former CM Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.

published on : 8th March 2022

Congress to form government in Uttarakhand with at least 40 seats: PCC

The Congress said it is going to form the government in Uttarakhand claiming it will win at least 40 seats in the 70-member state assembly.

published on : 3rd March 2022

Jobs, health, education on 2022 agenda for Uttarakhand: AAP

Leaders from AAP’s Uttarakhand unit said that the BJP and the Congress have done nothing for the state except indulging in corrupt practices. 

published on : 21st August 2020