Voters and candidates in Iraq's election: Here is all you need to know

At the end of the ballot, the 329 members of parliament elected from party lists will be tasked with forming a government and electing a prime minister and president.

Published: 22nd April 2018 08:50 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd April 2018 08:50 PM   |  A+A-

Campaign posters for parliamentary elections adorn a street in Baghdad, Iraq. (AP)


BAGHDAD: Iraqis are set to head to the polls on May 12 for parliamentary elections.

At the end of the ballot, the 329 members of parliament elected from party lists will be tasked with forming a government and electing a prime minister and president.

After the 2003 US-led invasion and the fall of Saddam Hussein, Iraq held its first general election in January 2005, selecting a parliament tasked with drafting a new constitution. 

It then held parliamentary elections in December 2005, with two subsequent polls in 2010 and 2014.

Here is everything you need to know about Iraq's 2018 parliamentary elections.  


  • Nearly 24.5 million of Iraq's than 35 million people are registered to vote. They are spread out across 18 provinces.

  • Voters can cast their ballots at 8,148 polling stations across the country, all of which are equipped for electronic voting. 

  • According to Iraqi authorities, nearly 11 million biometric identity cards have been distributed to authenticate identities.

  • The 285,564 internal refugees eligible to vote will do so in one of 166 polling stations in 70 camps spread across eight provinces in the country.

  • Iraqis in the diaspora can also vote in 19 countries.

  • Voters will select party lists and seats will be divided up according to the number of votes each list secures. 


There are 6,982 candidates, including 2,014 women, set to run in the polls.

They will be competing for 329 seats, including nine reserved for minorities -- Christians, Shabaks, Yezidis, Mandeans and Fayli Kurds -- and 83 for women. 

Candidates, selected based on their position in the party, will be elected to four-year terms in parliament. 

There are 87 party lists in this year's election.

The main lists are as follows:

  • VICTORY COALITION, led by outgoing Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi. This year, for the first time since the fall of Saddam Hussein in 2003, the ranks of the deposed leader's oldest opponents, the Shiite Dawa Party, are divided. Abadi, who heads the Dawa Party, has put together a list composed mainly of civil society personalities that cross sectarian lines.

  • CONQUEST ALLIANCE, led by Hadi al-Ameri, head of the Badr organisation and leader of the mostly Shiite Hashed al-Shaabi paramilitary units, which played a key role in rolling back Islamic State (IS) group jihadists. His candidates officially quit their military roles to run for office.

  • RULE OF LAW ALLIANCE, led by former prime minister Nouri al-Maliki. The list relies principally on the Dawa Party, which Maliki led before leaving office in 2014. But while it is popular with public servants hired under his mandate, the list suffers from criticisms aimed at Maliki because IS seized one-third of the country under his watch. 

  • MARCHING TOWARDS REFORM, an unprecedented alliance between Shiite leader Moqtada al-Sadr and communists. It includes mostly secular groups including the Iraqi Communist Party and Istiqama (Arabic for righteousness), a technocrat party backed by Sadr, who suspended his Ahrar bloc and called on his 33 ministers not to run in the polls. 

  • SUNNIS appear on several lists. The main list, "The National Alliance", is led by Shiite Vice President Iyad Allaqi -- who presents himself as secular -- and Sunni head of parliament Salim al-Joubouri. Weakened after three years of IS rule, Sunnis could be the biggest loser in this year's elections.

  • KURDS will head to polls with divided ranks to fill their northern autonomous region's 46 seats, two of which are reserved for Christians. The main Kurdish parties are the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) and the Kurdistan Patriotic Union (PUK). There are also three opposition parties: the main Jamaa Islamiya, the newly created New Generation movement, and Goran (Kurdish for change).

Stay up to date on all the latest World news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp