China backs India's bid for non-permanent UNSC membership, hails its role in global peace

India's candidature for a two-year term from 2021-22 was unanimously endorsed by the 55-member Asia-Pacific grouping, including China and Pakistan on Tuesday.

Published: 28th June 2019 06:24 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th June 2019 06:24 PM   |  A+A-

India China flag

For representational purposes (File | AFP)


BEIJING: China on Friday said that it values India's position and role in maintaining international peace and security, after Beijing backed New Delhi's candidature for a non-permanent seat at the powerful UN Security Council.

India's candidature for a two-year term from 2021-22 was unanimously endorsed by the 55-member Asia-Pacific grouping, including China and Pakistan on Tuesday.

Syed Akbaruddin, India's Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador tweeted on Tuesday saying that "A unanimous step.

Asia-Pacific Group @UN unanimously endorses India's candidature for a non-permanent seat of the Security Council for 2-year term in 2021/22.

Thanks to all 55 members for their support".

Asked about China's backing for India's non-permanent seat, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Geng Shuang in a written response to PTI said that China has taken note of the unanimous approval of India as the only candidate of the Asian and Pacific major group of the UN general assembly to stand for non-permanent membership of the UNSC.

"We value India's position and its role in international and regional affairs and look forward to India's positive contribution to maintaining international peace and security," he said.

While supporting India's candidature for the non-permanent seat, China, a veto-wielding member of the P5, however, is yet to support India's push for permanent seat in the UNSC though the other four P5 members - China, France, Russia, the UK and the US - have expressed their support.

India has been at the forefront of the years-long efforts to reform the Security Council saying it rightly deserves a place as a permanent member of the Council, which in its current form does not represent the geo-political realities of the 21st Century.

India, Germany, Brazil and Japan formed a group called the G4 to press for their permanent membership of the UNSC as part of reforms of the United Nations.

Currently, the 10 non-permanent members are Belgium, Ivory Coast, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Poland and South Africa.


Follow The New Indian Express channel on WhatsApp


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp