Nepal's Cabinet expansion likely by August 2

Cabinet to include eight members from PM Sher Bahadur Deuba's Nepali Congress, seven each from Janata Samajbadi Party and Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda''s CPN-Maoist Centre, according to reports.

Published: 01st August 2021 05:08 PM  |   Last Updated: 01st August 2021 05:08 PM   |  A+A-

Nepalese Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba.

Nepalese Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, 75, was appointed as the prime minister for a record fifth time on July 12 following the Supreme Court's intervention. (File Photo | AP)


KATHMANDU: Nepal's newly-appointed Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba and CPN-Maoist Centre chief Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' have agreed to expand the Cabinet by Monday, a media report said on Sunday.

“The ruling parties are doing the homework to appoint leaders from their own party in the government.

The extension will take place on Sunday or by Monday,” My Republica newspaper reported, citing its sources.

It said a meeting was held at the prime minister's residence in Baluwatar where the two leaders agreed to expand the government to include CPN-UML leader Madhav Kumar Nepal's side "as much as possible."

At present, besides Deuba, there are four Cabinet ministers and one minister of state in the Cabinet.

CPN-UML leader Madhav Nepal, however, is reluctant to join the government right now in the wake of struggle within the party.

In such a case, out of the 25 Cabinet ministers that Nepal's constitution allows, the Nepali Congress will have eight ministers, the Maoist Centre and the Janata Samajbadi Party seven each after the Cabinet expansion, the paper said.

Citing its sources, it said that in the remaining three places, the leaders close to Madhav Nepal, but with independent status will be made ministers.

NC leaders Pushpa Bhusal, Narayan Khadka, Man Bahadur BK, Kishor Singh Rathore and Bahadur Singh Lama are likely to be inducted into the Cabinet.

Deuba, 75, was appointed as the prime minister for a record fifth time on July 12 following the Supreme Court's intervention.

The CPN-Maoist Centre and Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal lawmakers had voted in favour of Deuba during the confidence motion in the House.

Deuba, who secured 165 votes in the 275-member House, will remain in office for the next one and half years until a fresh parliamentary election is held.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp