13 EU nations voice 'grave concern' at Hungary anti-LGBTQ law

Hungary's Foreign Minister Peter Szijjarto, attending the meeting, defended the law, saying it is 'against only the paedophiles'.

Published: 22nd June 2021 08:32 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd June 2021 08:32 PM   |  A+A-

People gather during an LGBT rights demonstration in front of the Hungarian Parliament building in Budapest, Hungary. (Photo | AP)


LUXEMBOURG: Thirteen of the EU's 27 member states on Tuesday voiced their "grave concern" at a new law in Hungary they said discriminates against LGBTQ people while claiming to protect children.

"Stigmatising LGBTIQ persons constitute a clear breach of their fundamental right to dignity, as provided for in the EU Charter and international law," they said in a joint statement initiated by Belgium and whose signatories include Germany, France, Spain, Ireland, the Netherlands and Sweden.

The statement was released as EU European affairs ministers held a regular meeting in Luxembourg, this one focused on rule of law issues in Hungary and Poland, both of which Brussels sees as straying from EU values.

Hungary's right-wing government last week passed a law banning educational programmes and materials for children that it deems "promoted" homosexuality, sexual identity different from that at birth, or gender reassignment.

Hungary's Foreign Minister Peter Szijjarto, attending the meeting, defended the law, saying it is "against only the paedophiles".

In the joint statement, the EU countries said the legal amendments adopted by Hungary "discriminate against LGBTIQ persons and violate the right to freedom of expression under the pretext of protecting children".

It said the law "deserves to be condemned," adding: "Inclusion, human dignity and equality are core values of our European Union, and we cannot compromise on these principles."

The European Commission, as the guardian of the EU treaties, should "use all the tools at its disposal to ensure full respect for EU law,  including by referring the matter to the ECJ (European Court of Justice)," the EU countries urged. 

The other signatories to the text were Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Luxembourg and Latvia.

Belgium's Foreign Minister Sophie Wilmes said her country took the lead on the declaration because "the new Hungarian legislation undermines the fundamental values of the Europe we stand for".

She added that "we also have a duty to tell our partners when we are deeply convinced that they have taken the wrong path".


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp