BJP finalises candidates for all 230 seats in MP; several sons of leaders get tickets

Just a few hours after releasing the third list of 32 candidates, the ruling party released its final list of seven more candidates.

Published: 09th November 2018 12:31 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th November 2018 08:51 AM   |  A+A-


BJP flag used for representational purpose (Photo | File/PTI)

By Express News Service

BHOPAL: Eyeing their fourth successive term in power in Madhya Pradesh, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday declared candidates on all 230 seats for the Assembly polls. Just a few hours after releasing the third list of 32 candidates, the ruling party released its final list of seven more candidates.In the final list, the BJP denied tickets to three sitting MLAs, among them, 75-year-old cabinet minister Kusum Mehdele. 

ALSO READ | Madhya Pradesh election: BJP leader Sartaj Singh cries after failing to make it to 3rd list

Mehdele, a four-time MLA from the Panna seat, is the fifth minister of the incumbent Shivraj Singh Chouhan government to have been denied a ticket for the upcoming polls. In total, the ruling party has denied tickets to 52 sitting MLAs, which translates to over 30% of the 165 seats the party won in 2013 polls.

Besides, Mehdele, the other ministers, who have been so far denied party tickets, include Maya Singh (Gwalior East), Harsh Singh (Rampur Baghelan), Suryaprakash Meena (Shamsabad) and Gaurishankar Shejwar (Sanchi).Akash Vijayvargiya, the son of BJP national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya has been fielded from Indore III seat. 

The saffron party has already given tickets to other politician sons. They include Mudit, son of MP cabinet minister Gaurishankar Shejwar and Vikram Singh, the son of MP minister Harsh Singh, among others.
The party also named Krishna Gaur, daughter-in-law of former CM Babulal Gaur and former mayor of Bhopal, from the Govindpura seat. Babulal has won from the seat eight times in a row and it is considered one of the safest seats for the BJP in the state. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Madhya Pradesh Elections news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp