Fadnavis cabinet gets 13 new faces including former Congress leader Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil

The Maharashtra CM said that his government has already started planning for another term, and, hence, the cabinet expansion should be seen as an attempt to build a new team for another five years.

Published: 17th June 2019 12:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th June 2019 12:56 AM   |  A+A-

Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil. (File | PTI)

Express News Service

MUMBAI: Thirteen new ministers were inducted into the Maharashtra cabinet on Sunday.

Speaking to reporters on the eve of the Monsoon session of the Assembly, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said, “We have tried to strike a regional balance.”

Refuting claims that the new cabinet appointments have been made with an eye on the forthcoming assembly elections, Fadnavis said that his government has already started planning for another term, and, hence, the cabinet expansion should be seen as an attempt to build a new team for another five years.

While 13 new members were drafted into the cabinet, five sitting ministers were dropped.

“They (the ministers) tendered their resignations, which were accepted,” the CM said.

It had been widely speculated that Lokayukta’s strictures against housing minister Prakash Mehta, coupled with a need to accommodate new members of the BJP and ally Shiv Sena in the cabinet, prompted the much-awaited expansion of Fadnavis’ team.

ALSO READ | Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil's arch-rival Thorat named CLP leader in Maharashtra assembly

As was expected, former leader of opposition Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, who rebelled against the Congress and switched to the BJP after his son Sujay was denied a ticket for the Lok Sabha elections, and NCP legislator Jaidutta Kshirsagar, who joined the Shiv Sena a month ago, were both inducted as ministers.

Others to be inducted into the cabinet include BJP leaders Ashish Shelar (Mumbai), Anil Bonde (Amravati), Sanjay Kute (Buldhana), Ashok Uike (Yavatmal), Parinay Phuke (Bhandara), Atul Save (Aurangabad), Suresh Khade (Sangli), Sanjay Beghde (Maval) and Yogesh Sagar (Mumbai), RPI(A)’s Avinash Mahatekar (Munbai) and Shiv Sena’s Tanaji Sawant (Yavatmal).

ALSO READ | With Ashish Shelar's elevation in Fadnavis cabinet, BJP begins hunt for Mumbai unit head

Five of the 13 new ministers hail from Vidarbha, while three each are from Mumbai and western Maharashtra. Marathwada got two cabinet berths and North Maharashtra got a lone berth.

“All the new ministers are experienced,” Fadnavis said of the inductees.

Among those who have tendered their resignations are three cabinet ministers — Prakash Mehta (housing), Vishnu Savra (tribal development) and Rajkumar Badole (social justice) — and two ministers of state — Raje Ambarish Atram (tribal development) and Dilip Kamble (social justice). All are from the BJP.

“All fared well as ministers. However, the party felt the need for change and hence, we brought in new faces,” the CM said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp