Assembly Elections 2018

After elections, Congress brass planning rejig of party posts

Gehlot currently holds the powerful post of All India Congress Committee general secretary (organisation) while Nath and Baghel are state unit chiefs of MP and Chhattisgarh. 

published on : 25th December 2018

Resurgent Congress leaves SP, BSP cagey in Uttar Pradesh?

Akhilesh and Mayawati remained conspicuous by their absence despite their support to the grand old party in touching the majority mark in MP and Rajasthan.

published on : 18th December 2018

Interview | We are making new friends while NDA is losing allies, says Congress veteran Veerappa Moily

Senior Congress leader Veerappa Moily says his party has launched multiple exercises to remove the BJP from power in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

published on : 16th December 2018

Assembly elections 2018: Hinduism triumphs over Hindutva

This column has said more than once that the greatness of India lies in its majority community voting not as Hindus, but as Indians.

published on : 16th December 2018

It's Kamal Nath for Madhya Pradesh; Rahul Gandhi to decide on Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh today

Though Sachin Pilot and Ashok Gehlot met Rahul Gandhi yesterday, the Congress decided to defer the Rajasthan decision after party chief Rahul Gandhi decided to hold further discussions with leaders.

published on : 14th December 2018

Swapna Patronis: The woman who managed Assembly elections for the Congress from Kochi

'We analysed the trends of the 2009 and 2014 elections, and gave Congress workers the responsibility to manage booths and connect with voters,' said Swapna.

published on : 14th December 2018

Decoding assembly results 2018: Anger is also a number

These Assembly election results give us a wealth of information to study the mood on the ground, collectively and in fragmented blocs.

published on : 14th December 2018

Power struggle exposes old Congress failings

The scene in Bhopal and Raipur, the capital cities of MP and Chhattisgarh, respectively, is somewhat similar.

published on : 14th December 2018

LJP leader Chirag Paswan says people got disappointed over Ram temple, Hanuman dominating politics

With the exit of Upendra Kushwaha's Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), the NDA in Bihar is now left with the LJP and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's JD(U).

published on : 14th December 2018

Kamal Nath profile: The Nehru-Gandhi family loyalist and Congress' man of the match in MP

He stood by Indira Gandhi in her fight against Morarji Desai in 1979 and now, four decades later, the loyalist steeled his grit and put all his political acumen to regain Madhya Pradesh.

published on : 13th December 2018

Rahul Gandhi huddles with Sonia, senior party leaders over Rajasthan, MP CMs; decision on Chhattisgarh on Friday 

Gandhi's official residence in Lutyens Delhi became a revolving door as the four main chief ministerial claimants and AICC observers for the three Hindi heartland states made repeated visits

published on : 13th December 2018

PM Modi should listen more and talk less, BJP defeat due to people's anger: Omar Abdullah​

The former Jammu and Kashmir CM said the results made it clear that there is anger and a feeling of alienation among the people and the Centre has been unwilling to accept this reality.

published on : 13th December 2018

Poll results prove Ram Temple or communal polarisation doesn't cut ice with people: Yashwant Sinha 

His comments came after the Congress wrested power from the BJP in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

published on : 13th December 2018

BJP defeat due to people's anger against Modi government's policies: Sitaram Yechury

Yechury said the BJP-led central government needed to be defeated in the 2019 general election and an alternative secular government established in order to save the country.

published on : 13th December 2018

Game wide open in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh as Rahul Gandhi set to pick CM faces 

In all the three states, alliance making appeared far easier for Congress than identifying their new Chief Ministers.

published on : 13th December 2018
1 2 3 >