Shashi Tharoor, Shobhaa De to judge Oxford Bookstore's Book Cover Prize

Earlier recipients of the award include Bena Sareen for "Talking of Justice" by late Leila Seth, Pinaki De for Kunal Basu's "Kalkatta", and Maithili Doshi Aphale for Ruskin Bond's "Himalaya".

Published: 03rd August 2019 12:31 PM  |   Last Updated: 03rd August 2019 12:31 PM   |  A+A-


L-R: Author-politician Shashi Tharoor; columnist and novelist Shobhaa De. (Photos | File, EPS)


NEW DELHI: Author-politician Shashi Tharoor, columnist and novelist Shobhaa De, and philanthropist and art patron Feroze Gujral will be part of the new jury for the fifth edition of the Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize.

Author, publisher and literary historian Namita Gokhale, and director of Apeejay Surrendra Group Priti Paul will also be on the judging panel.

The annual award that carries a cash prize as well as a trophy, this year, will accept entries of book covers by designers of Indian origin and published between April 2018 and March 2019.

"The jury members are all pre-eminent in their particular fields and share a love and commitment to books and reading.

The varied interests of these eminent jurors will help create a rich and diverse perspective for the selection," Oxford bookstores said.

Established in 2015 by the Oxford Bookstore, the prize awards brilliance in book design, and recognises cover design as an integral part of the success of a book.

"The prize appreciates the importance of the balance of graphics and narrative, particularly in our increasingly visual age, and believes that a book cover interprets and decodes the ensuing text in crucial ways that contribute to its ultimate success," the bookstore added.

Tharoor said the prize was a "timely and effective" way to recognise the skills that help get a book, and sometimes even lesser-known authors noticed.

"Literally one of the oldest of clichés in the English language is to never judge a book by its cover. But the fact remains that a book is often plucked off a shelf or attracts attention in a bookstore because of its cover. The art of designing a cover to attract buyers and readers, while encapsulated the essential mood of the book, requires special skills," Tharoor said.

While the shortlisted designers will be announced at the Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival next year, the final winner will be declared at the Jaipur Book Mark 2020, of Jaipur Literature Festival.

Earlier recipients of the award include designer Bena Sareen for "Talking of Justice" by late Leila Seth, designer Pinaki De for Kunal Basu's "Kalkatta", and Maithili Doshi Aphale for Ruskin Bond's "Himalaya".


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp