New MPs Sarfaraz Alam, Nagendra Pratap Singh, Praveen Kumar Nishad take oath in Lok Sabha

New MPs Sarfaraz Alam, Nagendra Pratap Singh, Praveen Kumar Nishad take oath in Lok Sabha

Published: 16th March 2018 01:16 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th March 2018 01:16 PM   |  A+A-

SP's Praveen Kumar Nishad after the party's win in UP's Gorakhpur bypoll on Wednesday (PTI)


NEW DELHI: Amid loud cheers by opposition members, three newly elected MPs, whose victories have given a fresh impetus to the BJP's opponents, took oath in the Lok Sabha today.

The new members -- one of the RJD and two from Samajwadi Party, defeated BJP candidates in the elections held last week.

The members -- RJD's Sarfaraz Alam from Araria in Bihar, and SP's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel, elected from Phulpur in Uttar Pradesh and Praveen Kumar Nishad from Gorakhpur constituency, took oath in Hindi.

The SP members won from constituencies earlier held by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Adityanath and the Deputy Chief Minister K P Maurya.

Alam (RJD) was the first to take oath amidst loud cheers by the opposition benches, which were occupied by several top leaders including Sonia Gandhi and Mallikarajun Kharge of the Congress and SP veteran Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and BJP veteran L K Advani, who were seated in the front row of the treasury benches, also greeted him by thumping desks.

Patel and Nishad, both sporting the trademark red cap of the Samajwadi Party, took oath, were also cheered and greeted loudly by the opposition members.

Both of them touched the feet of Rajnath Singh, Jaitley and Advani before taking oath.

While leaving the well, after singing the necessary papers, they took blessings from Mulayam Singh Yadav, Gandhi and Kharge.

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan also greeted the three MPs.

Alam defeated the BJP candidate in his home turf Araria, a seat which had fallen vacant due to the death of his father and former RJD strongman Taslimuddin.

All SPs MPs, including Mulayam, Dharmendra Yadav and Akhshay Yadav, were sporting red caps.

Before the House took up the day's business, the newly elected MPs were greeted by leaders of the opposition parties like Congress, TMC, Left, NCP and others.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp