Andhra Pradesh reorganisation: Seven commissionerates, 29 police units likely  

An expert committee formed by the Home department made a detailed analysis of the attachments and detachments of subdivisions to the new units.

Published: 14th November 2020 08:32 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th November 2020 08:32 AM   |  A+A-

Police, Crime

For representational purposes (Express Illustrations)

Express News Service

VIJAYAWADA: Andhra Pradesh will soon have a total of seven police commissionerates with the addition of five to the existing Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam commissionerates as a part of the reorganisation of the districts in the State.

Also, the number of total police units, including both commissionerates and district units, is likely to increase from 18 to 29.  

According to sources in the police department, Kakinada urban, Nellore urban, Tirupati urban, Rajamahendravaram urban and Guntur urban are going to be the new commissionerates. The densely populated districts will have two or three separate police units. 

ALSO READ | Andhra Pradesh likely to have 29 districts after reorganisation

An expert committee formed by the Home department made a detailed analysis of the attachments and detachments of subdivisions to the new units.

After the study, the team recommended formation of more police units. The committee also recommended formation of new police stations in the State. 

While there will be no bifurcation in the Srikakulam and Vizianagaram district police units, Visakhapatnam district will be divided into three units — City commissionerate, Araku unit and Anakapalle unit., sources said.

East Godavari will be divided into four — Rampachodavaram, Rajamahendravaram commissionerate, Kakinada commissionerate and Amalapuram unit.  West Godavari will have two units—  Eluru and Narsapuram. Krishna district will remain  the same with two units — Vijayawada city commissionerate and district unit. Guntur will have three units, including Guntur Urban commissionerate. Prakasam will be divided into two units — Bapatla and Ongole — three each in Tirupati and Chittoor and two each in Nellore, Kadapa, Kurnool and Anantapur. 

No transfers: DGP order 

DGP D Gautam Sawang on Thursday issued an order to all unit offices asking them not to carry out any transfer in view of the impending formation of new districts and police units. “Based on the revenue limits, the new police units were formed,” said a senior IPS officer. 

2: Police commissionerates at present 
18: District units at present


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp