Goa assembly

Congress yet to choose legislative party leader even as Goa Assembly session begins

Former chief minister Digambar Kamat was hurriedly called to Delhi on Monday by the Congress leadership to finalise the name of the Leader of Opposition.

published on : 30th March 2022

Pramod Sawant to be sworn in as Goa CM on Monday; PM Modi, Rajnath Singh to attend

More than 10,000 people are likely to attend the event at the stadium, and the swearing-in ceremony will also be broadcast across the coastal state through various news channels.

published on : 27th March 2022

First session of new Goa Assembly from March 29

A new Speaker would be elected during the session, which is expected to complete a range of legislative business, including passing of bills and a vote-on-account.

published on : 25th March 2022

Pramod Sawant clear favourite as BJP to announce next Goa CM on Monday

Besides Sawant, the names of BJP MLA and former state health minister Vishwajit Rane, and Himachal Pradesh Governor Rajendra Arlekar, who hails from Goa, are being discussed for the CM's post.

published on : 21st March 2022

In Goa, blame game begins between Congress and ally GFP over poor poll performance

The BJP won 20 out of the total 40 seats in the Goa elections and secured the support of MGP and three Independents.

published on : 19th March 2022

Girish Chodankar resigns as Goa Congress chief after party's rout in Assembly polls

Chodankar was at the helm of affairs of the Congress during the recent elections held for the 40-member Goa Assembly.

published on : 15th March 2022

Congress in more mess? Three days over since Goa poll results, party yet to decide its legislature leader

According to sources, the Goa Congress unit has not held a single meeting after it failed to reach the majority mark of 21 in the 40-member Assembly.

published on : 13th March 2022

Vishwajit Rane to be the new Goa CM? BJP leader meets Governor, sets rumour mill rolling

Rane has been projecting himself as a contender for the post of Goa chief minister after the BJP won 20 of the total 40 seats in the recent elections, sources said.

published on : 13th March 2022

Vote share intact, BJP makes inroads into Hindu and Christian belts in Goa

Out of the total of 20 seats, the grand old party won only five, after having secured victory in 10 of those five years ago. In North Goa, too, the Congress tally fell from seven to six.

published on : 13th March 2022

Goa Governor PS Sreedharan Pillai dissolves Assembly as its term expiring on March 15

Pramod Sawant had submitted his resignation on Saturday afternoon to the governor after his party- BJP- won 20 of the total 40 seats in the recently-held elections.

published on : 12th March 2022

Pramod Sawant resigns as Goa Chief Minister; asked to continue as caretaker CM

Sawant met Governor P S Sreedharan Pillai at the Raj Bhavan around noon and submitted his resignation.

published on : 12th March 2022

Goa: Differences emerge within BJP on accepting MGP's support

Some newly-elected BJP MLAs in Goa are against accepting the support of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, sources said.

published on : 12th March 2022

76 to 716: Victory margins of BJP in 10 Goa constituencies, as per data

The victory margin remained below the 100-mark in two of these constituencies in the coastal state, where the assembly polls were held on February 14 and the results were declared on Thursday.

published on : 11th March 2022

BJP in Goa steps out of Parrikar’s shadow; Trinamool flops on its debut show

BJP’s Goa in-charge Devendra Fadnavis claimed the party has got a support letter from Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party which has two MLAs.

published on : 11th March 2022

TMC's high decibel campaign in Goa fizzles to a nought

TMC's show in the Goa assembly election failed to match the noise it made while entering the poll fray, with no seat to show for its efforts.

published on : 10th March 2022
1 2 3 4 5 6 >