New COVID strain

Tougher entry rules for foreign flyers, mandatory masks: UK announces new Covid norms as Omicron strain arrives

Britain has already said it is banning travel from six southern African nations because of the emergence of Omicron: South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana.

published on : 27th November 2021

EXPLAINER | Is new Covid variant 'Omicron' more lethal than Delta? Here's all you need to know

The scientific community is worried as they fear that this new strain could fuel outbreaks in several countries and cripple health systems once again.

published on : 26th November 2021

World takes action as new variant emerges in southern Africa

Within a few days of the discovery of the new variant, it has already impacted on a jittery world that is sensitive to bad COVID-19 news, with deaths around the globe standing at well over 5 million.

published on : 26th November 2021

Israel warns of 'emergency' after detecting new virus strain

The Israeli Health Ministry said it detected the new strain in a traveler who had returned from Malawi and was investigating two other suspected cases. All three had been vaccinated.

published on : 26th November 2021

Karnataka tightens screening of international flyers as new Covid variant  raises alarm

All international flyers travelling from and transitioning through high-risk countries should be subjected to rigorous screening and testing, a circular said.

published on : 26th November 2021

New COVID strain: UK returnee tests positive in Maharashtra's Aurangabad

A woman, who had returned to Aurangabad in Maharashtra from the UK in the last few weeks, has tested coronavirus positive.

published on : 26th December 2020