Punjab Congress

It's too much to expect Congress to fight BJP when its state leaders busy in infighting: Omar Abdullah

In a series of tweets, Abdullah said, "I guess it's too much to expect the Congress to take the fight to the BJP when its state leaders are too busy fighting amongst themselves."

published on : 18th September 2021

Governance in Punjab biggest casualty in Congress' 'Game of Thrones': AAP

In a video message, AAP spokesperson Raghav Chadha said the issues of Punjab have been put on the back burner amid a power struggle in the ruling party.

published on : 18th September 2021

Amarinder Singh: The man who put Congress back on saddle in Punjab

The 79-year-old widely respected and popular leader steered the Congress in 2017 to a landslide victory in the 117-member assembly to occupy the chief minister's post for the second time.

published on : 18th September 2021

'Humiliated thrice': Amarinder Singh quits as Punjab CM, says 'will exercise options when time comes'

Singh had decided to put in his papers ahead of the crucial CLP meeting in Chandigarh on Saturday evening, sources close to him said.

published on : 18th September 2021

After Capt Amarinder Singh, clock ticking for Gehlot, Baghel?

Like Punjab, the party has been trying, by all means, to amicably settle the differences between leadership but may have to end up taking an adverse stand if nothing works.   

published on : 18th September 2021

Change of guard in offing in Punjab? CM Amarinder Singh asked to step down

While names of former Punjab chief Sunil Jakhar, Ludhiana MP Ravneet Singh Bittu and Rajya Sabha MP Partap Singh Bajwa are in the mix, sources clarified that Sidhu is out of the race.

published on : 18th September 2021

Punjab Congress crisis: Harish Rawat to reach Chandigarh for legislative party meeting

Congress Legislature Party has been called. Things will be discussed in the meeting, said party's Punjab general secy Pargat Singh amid rumours of Amarinder Singh resigning from CM post.

published on : 18th September 2021

Navjot Singh Sidhu attacks SAD, AAP over farm laws; AAP calls him 'Rakhi Sawant of Punjab politics'

The SAD in a statement earlier said Navjot Singh Sidhu is trying to befool people by raking up old issues to cover up his party's failures.

published on : 17th September 2021

Harish Rawat meets Punjab CM Amarinder Singh, asks to reduce power tariffs

Harish Rawat, who is in charge of Congress party Punjab affairs at the AICC, had arrived in Chandigarh on Tuesday amid the ongoing tussle in the camps of CM Amarinder Singh and Navjot Sidhu.

published on : 1st September 2021

Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu faces protest by shopkeepers in own constituency

The protesting shopkeepers alleged that the Congress councillor of the area, who is considered close to Sidhu, has been putting pressure on them to vacate their shops.

published on : 30th August 2021

Punjab Congress wracked by self-made mess

Fears of denial of ticket and/or polltime sabotage are already afloat, given that the Assembly elections are due in six months.

published on : 30th August 2021

Punjab Congress leaders should act properly so that they are not misinterpreted: Harish Rawat

Rawat, who is the AICC in-charge of Punjab will meet Congress interim President Sonia Gandhi and party leader Rahul Gandhi on Saturday to discuss the ongoing turmoil in the party's state unit.

published on : 27th August 2021

Allow freedom to take decisions, else I will give a befitting reply, warns Punjab Congress chief Sidhu after aide quits

The Congress, however, said state chiefs are free to take their decisions within the party's norms and constitution.

published on : 27th August 2021

Congress reposes faith in Amarinder Singh, rebels seek Rahul audience

In a major jolt to four rebel ministers and nearly two dozen MLAs seeking the ouster of Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, the AICC on Wednesday reposed faith in the embattled leader. 

published on : 26th August 2021

MP Preneet Kaur holds Navjot Singh Sidhu responsible for row in Punjab Congress

Four ministers and several party legislators have gone against Amarinder Singh and sought his replacement, saying they have 'lost faith in him' over the issue of unfulfilled promises.

published on : 25th August 2021
1 2 3 4 5 >