Jamia crackdown: 11 Delhi Police officers transferred

The names of 10 more Delhi Police officers were also included in the transfer list released by the Home Department of the Delhi government.

Published: 17th December 2019 02:51 PM  |   Last Updated: 17th December 2019 02:51 PM   |  A+A-


For representational purposes


NEW DELHI: Following the police crackdown against students in Jamia Millia Islamia, several Delhi Police officers, including Additional Police Commissioner of South-Eastern district Kumar Gyanesh have been transferred.

The names of 10 more Delhi Police officers were also included in the transfer list released by the Home Department of the Delhi government on Monday. However, Delhi Police headquarters said that the transfers were "routine" ones.

Information to this effect has been issued on Monday by the Deputy Secretary of the Home Department of the government of Delhi. A total of 11 officers -- five IPS and six officers from DANIPS service of Delhi Police -- were mentioned in the transfer order issued.

ALSO READ: No bullet fired by Delhi police during protests at Jamia - MHA officials

According to the order, among the 2010 batch IPS officers, Brijendra Kumar Yadav has been removed from DCP security and sent as Additional DCP-1 North West District. Pratap Singh, an IPS officer from 2011 batch, has been removed from the post of Additional DCP-1 in South-West District and sent to South-Eastern District.

While in the south-eastern district, Kumar Gyanesh, Additional DCP-1, DANIPS service, has been removed and posted in South-West district in place of Pratap Singh.

It is noteworthy that Kumar Gyanesh was the additional DCP-1 when the violence took place in the Jamia Nagar and Jamia Millia Islamia on Sunday. Delhi Police insiders say that after the incident, Delhi Police removed him from the district with immediate effect to thwart questions being raised against it.

Similarly, 2011-batch IPS officer Shankar Chaudhary has been removed as Additional DCP-PCR and given the charge of DCP-Traffic.

ALSO READ: Jamia violence: Police arrests 10 with criminal backgrounds, none of them students

Abhishek Dhania, a 2012-batch IPS officer, has been moved from DCP-Traffic and sent as Additional DCP-1 Eastern District. Vikram Harimohan Meena (2015 batch IPS) has been moved from Additional DCP South-West District to to DCP-Traffic.

The first name in the list of 6 DANIPS officers transferred is Suman Nalwa, a 1996-batch officer. She has been moved from the Principal of Police Training School, Dwarka and sent as DCP Special Branch (Intelligence Branch). Whereas Bhishma Singh, a 1997-batch DANIPS officer, has been moved from Additional DCP-1 North-West district to DCP Cyber (Crime Branch).

Sushil Kumar Singh, a 2006-batch DANIPS officer, was posted as Additional DCP-2 North West Delhi District. He has been made the additional DCP of the Security Wing. Similarly, 2009-batch DANIPS officer Pawan Kumar is now Additional DCP (Prime Minister's Security). Whereas Sandeep Bayala of 2009 batch, who was the Additional DCP (Prime Minister's Security) till now, will be the Additional DCP-Police Control Room.

More from Delhi.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp