Delhi Assembly polls: AAP makes delicate balance in candidate list

While more women and Purvanchali candidates have been fielded by the ruling party, five Muslims and three Sikhs are in the poll fray with no minister being dropped.

Published: 15th January 2020 09:38 AM  |   Last Updated: 15th January 2020 09:38 AM   |  A+A-

AAP leader Dilip Pandey

AAP leader Dilip Pandey (File Photo | Parveen Negi, EPS)

Express News Service

NEW DELHI: The Aam Aadmi Party struck a delicate balance as it increased the number of women and Purvanchali candidates while dropping 15 MLAs from its list declared on Tuesday. Though there are only eight women candidates of the total 70, it is up by two than the previous AAP nominations in 2015.

ALSO READ| Expansion of health schemes to find place in AAP's manifesto for Delhi Assembly polls

Rakh Bidlan (Mangolpuri), Bandan Kumari (Shamlimar Bagh), Atishi (Kalkaji), Parmila Tokas (RK Puram), Dhanwanti Chandela (Rajouri Garden), Rajkumari Dhillon (Hari Nagar), Bhawani Gaur (Palam) and Sarita Singh (Rohtas Nagar) are the AAP women candidates this year.

Similarly, Purvanchali candidates have gone up slightly from 11 to 12 in the AAP list for the election scheduled on February 8. There are five Muslims and three Sikhs in the list. Though Amantullah Khan, a heavyweight minister, was repeated, Haji Ishraque from Seelampur and Asim Ahmed Khan from Matia Mahal were dropped.

ALSO READ| After Lok Sabha defeat, Atishi, Raghav Chadha and Dilip Pandey to try their luck in Delhi polls

In Ishraque’s place, AAP nominated Abdul Rehman. A sitting councilor, Rehman is named in the FIR of anti-CAA violence happened in Seelampur. Ishraque stole the limelight when his picture surfaced in media with BJP MP and Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari.  

In 2015, Khan was sacked by CM Arvind Kejriwal over allegations of graft and Imran Hussain from Ballimaran was inducted in his place. Abdur Rehman’s name in the list has raised some eyebrows as he is named in the FIR of the anti-CAA violence happened in Seelampur on December 17.

Presently, he is an AAP councillor from Jaffrabad. In FIR, he was named as one of the instigators who led the protesters.

ALSO READ| Arvind Kejriwal gets majority support to return as Delhi Chief Minister

While five members who left the party fold have been replaced by fresh faces, the party has also dug into its kitty of municipal councilor in Delhi civic bodies for the polls.  Similarly, Atishi, Raghav Chadha and Dilip Pandey are among the non-MLAs fielded for the poll battle in the national capital.

Another feature of the ruling party’s list is the candidature of nine turncoats —  Shoaib Iqbal (Matia Mahal), Ram Singh Netaji (Badarpur), Vinay Kumar Mishra ( Dwarka), Prahlad Singh Sawhney ( Chandni Chowk), Dhanwanti Chandila (Rajouri Garden), Chaudhary Surendra Kumar ( Gokalpur), Rajkumari Dhillon (Hari Nagar), Naveen Chaudhary Deepu (Gandhi Nagar), and Jai Bhagwan Upkar (Bawana).

ALSO READ| IANS-CVoter poll tracker: Over 55% prefer AAP at state, over 57% for BJP at Centre

No minister dropped

Led by CM & Deputy CM, Satyendra Jain, Gopal Rai, Imran Hussain, Kailash Gahlot and Rajendra Gautam will fight the poll.

Stay up to date on all the latest Delhi news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp