Gujarat Congress

Post dismal performance in Assembly polls, Gujarat Cong suspends 38 members for 'anti-party activities' 

The disciplinary committee of the Gujarat Congress met two times this month and has so far received 71 complaints against 95 persons, its convener Balubhai Patel told reporters on Friday.

published on : 21st January 2023

Ahmedabad Diary: Ex-MLA’s letter calls out Congress senior leaders

A spark of revolt has been spotted in the Gujarat Congress owing to its debacle in the Assembly polls — and a little-known ex-MLA’s letter has been standing out amid all the chaos.

published on : 7th January 2023

More than 16 defeated Gujarat Congress MLAs demand resignation of state chief

In a meeting summoned by Gujarat Pradesh Congress Committee president Jagdish Thakor on Wednesday, the party’s leaders expressed their anger over the defeat.

published on : 22nd December 2022

Despite a bad loss in Gujarat polls, large-scale tug-of-war in Congress to choose Opposition leader

Before the session of the Gujarat Assembly on 20th December, there is a large-scale tug-of-war going on in the Gujarat Congress to decide the Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly.

published on : 17th December 2022

First phase of Gujarat Assembly elections in 89 seats tomorrow: All you need to know

The BJP has this time found a challenger in the AAP which has fielded some of its senior state leaders from Surat and hopes to win seven-eight seats in the city.

published on : 30th November 2022

Battleground Gujarat: All eyes on AAP in three-way poll contest in bipolar state politics

The elections are crucial for BJP, which has won six successive terms in Modi's home state, as well as for AAP, hoping desperately that a win in Gujarat will propel it to a pan-India presence.

published on : 3rd November 2022

Chorus grows louder in Congress for Rahul as president

Rahul Gandhi suggests that he will stick to his earlier stance of not taking up the party chief's post.

published on : 18th September 2022

Congress joins ‘freebie club’ in Gujarat, promises farm loan waiver, free power

State Congress chief Jagdish Thakor and ex-chief Bharat Sinh Solanki jointly announced the promise, saying the party always stood with farmers.

published on : 13th August 2022

Gujarat Congress MLA's son-in-law booked for culpable homicide after his SUV kills six persons

Ketan Padhiyar, the son-in-law of Congress MLA from Sojitra Assembly seat Punambhai Parmar, who was allegedly driving the SUV, fled after abandoning the vehicle at the spot.

published on : 12th August 2022

Ahmedabad Diary

Congress high-profile exits continued in the state with party district president and former MLA from Kheda, Rajesh Zala and Gautam Chauhan, respectively having quit the party to join the BJP.

published on : 12th July 2022

Congress' dual challenge in 2022 Gujarat elections: To take on BJP & keep vote bank intact, say experts

The Congress strongholds of north Gujarat and some tribal region have also been breached as many of its strong leaders have crossed over to the BJP in the last five years.

published on : 10th July 2022

Anxiety grips Gujarat Congress over final ‘yes’ from Naresh Patel

Enervated by Hardik Patel’s exit, the Gujarat Congress now appears waiting for a fortuitous ‘yes’ from Naresh Patel, a powerful Patidar satrap from Saurashtra.

published on : 26th May 2022

Gujarat Assembly polls: Congress won't project CM face during campaigning

The Gujarat Congress will go to voters without a chief minister face, according to party in-charge Raghu Sharma.

published on : 22nd May 2022

Amid Hardik Patel row, Gujarat Congress sets target of winning over 125 seats in assembly polls

The party on Thursday convened its Saurashtra Zone meeting in Rajkot to discuss upcoming programmes, especially making 25 new workers on each of the 52,000-odd booths in the state.

published on : 19th May 2022

Hardik Patel removes his Gujarat Congress designation, party poll symbol from Twitter profile

Gujarat Congress working president Hardik Patel removed his designation and party poll symbol of 'hand' from his Twitter profile.

published on : 2nd May 2022

Unhappy with Gujarat Congress leadership, not Rahul or Priyanka, says Hardik

Talking to reporters in Songadh in Tapi district, Hardik Patel, who is the working president of the state Congress, also refuted media reports claiming he will soon join the BJP.

published on : 25th April 2022

Disgruntled Hardik gets AAP invite to the party

“There is no place for dedicated people like him (in Congress). He should join a like-minded party like AAP,” Italia said.

published on : 16th April 2022

Former Gujarat Congress MLA Indranil Rajguru joins AAP in Rajkot

Rajguru showered praises on AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal, claiming that the Delhi chief minister fights for the people, not for his party.

published on : 14th April 2022

Gujarat Congress seeks registration of FIR against cops for forcibly entering party office

On Thursday, the Congress had claimed police had entered the party's state headquarters in Paldi area in Ahmedabad ahead of a protest against price rise planned by its women's wing.

published on : 1st April 2022

Congress expels eight MLAs in Gujarat, including Vaghela, for defying party whip in Rajya Sabha polls

The Congress on Wednesday expelled eight rebel MLAs, including former Chief Minister Shankersinh Vaghela, for six years for anti-party activities.

published on : 9th August 2017
1 2 >