Numbers crucial for new deputy Maharashtra CM Ajit Pawar to avoid disqualification  

If at least 1/3rd of a party decides to split, then those who have split away cannot be disqualified under Paragraph 2(1) of the law.

published on : 24th November 2019

Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot may reward BSP defectors with plum posts

The merger of the BSP MLAs who were constantly in touch with Gehlot is being seen as a ‘masterstroke’ of the CM – in which his deputy Sachin Pilot had no role to play.

published on : 18th September 2019

Defection of BSP MLAs: Mayawati says Congress again proved it is 'untrustworthy'

In a tweet, Mayawati said, 'The Congress government in Rajasthan has once again broken BSP MLAs and proved that is an unreliable and untrustworthy party'.

published on : 17th September 2019

Sharad Pawar loses cool when asked about relative's potential defection to BJP

While several leaders at all levels are deserting the NCP, Pawar was upset on being asked to comment about former deputy chief minister Padmasingh Patil, who happens to be his close relative.

published on : 30th August 2019

TMC in a fix over cracking anti-defection law against its MLAs defecting to BJP

A special session of the West Bengal state assembly is scheduled to begin from August 26 and will continue till September 6.

published on : 22nd August 2019

Warring ends: Kapil Mishra joins saffron ranks with AAP rebel

With Mishra's disqualification, the Assembly seat of Karawal Nagar, which was with Kapil Mishra, is now vacant.

published on : 17th August 2019

Sovan Chatterjee, who joined BJP, to be expelled from party: TMC

Efforts were on to bring back Sovan Chatterjee to the party fold, who had taken a sabbatical from active politics since last year due to personal reasons.

published on : 14th August 2019

Ex-Kolkata mayor Sovan Chatterjee joins BJP

Chatterjee, a former minister of the Mamata Banerjee government, joined the party in the presence of its senior West Bengal leader Mukul Roy and its general secretary Arun Singh.

published on : 14th August 2019

Local Congress leader, 42 others join BJP in Jammu

Shailender Vaid, ex-chairman and convenor of the Congress' minority morcha, was welcomed in the BJP by its state president Ravinder Raina.

published on : 13th August 2019

Delhi Assembly Speaker disqualifies two rebel AAP MLAs under anti-defection law

The decision comes nearly a week after Ram Niwas Goel disqualified rebel AAP MLA and former Delhi minister Kapil Mishra for campaigning for Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his party.

published on : 9th August 2019

Strict implementation of Anti-Defection Law sought

Schedule 10 of the Constitution which was brought to stop defection is being manipulated by the Central government, he said.

published on : 31st July 2019

Defector MLAs from Bengal sitting idle in BJP's camp

Most of the defected MLAs said the BJP’s state leadership asked them not to be active now. 

published on : 29th July 2019

Resentment among West Bengal BJP workers over move to induct turncoats

Mukul Roy said during a press conference that 107 MLAs, mostly from the Trinamool Congress, would join the BJP shortly.

published on : 20th July 2019

107 TMC, Congress, CPM MLAs will join BJP in West Bengal, claims Mukul Roy

Roy said the list of these MLAs who would be joining the BJP has been prepared and the legislators are in contact with the state BJP leadership.

published on : 13th July 2019

As law stands today, SC cannot direct Karnataka Speaker to act in certain manner

The Supreme Court has pressed the pause button on the breathless drama in Karnataka politics until Tuesday.

published on : 13th July 2019
1 2 >