Hearing of Mukul Roy disqualification case to begin again in Assembly: West Bengal Speaker

Roy, a former BJP national vice-president, had defected to the ruling TMC from BJP in June 2021 after winning the assembly poll in West Bengal on a BJP ticket.

published on : 19th April 2022

Disqualification of 12 BJP MLAs in Manipur: We'll do something, no direction required, SG tells SC

The 12 BJP MLAs from Manipur are reportedly facing disqualification in a 2018 "office-of-profit" case for holding the position of parliamentary secretaries.

published on : 11th November 2021

EC cuts Sikkim CM Prem Singh Tamang's disqualification period by five years

Tamang was found guilty of misappropriation of government funds in a cow distribution scheme while he was the minister of animal husbandry in the 1990s.

published on : 29th September 2019

Third judge appointed to hear AIADMK MLA disqualification plea hails from Dindigul district

The Supreme Court on Wednesday appointed Justice M Satyanarayana as the third judge to hear the disqualification plea of 18 AIADMK MLAs.

published on : 28th June 2018

Justice M Sathyanarayanan of Madras HC to hear the plea of disqualified AIADMK MLAs: Supreme Court

The vacation bench of the Supreme Court passed the order on a plea by some of the disqualified MLAs who were seeking transfer of their petition challenging their disqualification.

published on : 27th June 2018

AIADMK MLAs disqualification: Here is a timeline of events after former Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa's death

The much-awaited verdict on the 18 MLA's disqualification case came was a split between the two judges, thus leaving the MLAs' fate hanging. 

published on : 14th June 2018

AIADMK MLAs disqualification case: Relief for EPS-OPS as Madras High Court gives split verdict, matter referred to three-judge bench

Meanwhile, 16 of 18 disqualified MLAs had turned up at the residence of RK Nagar MLA TTV Dhinakaran.

published on : 14th June 2018

Congress says will pursue AAP MLAs' office of profit case with Election Commission again

The Congress said it would fight the office-of-profit case involving 20 AAP MLAs in the Election Commission of India again, after the Delhi High Court set aside their disqualification.

published on : 23rd March 2018

Delhi Assembly speaker says he will allow the 20 AAP MLAs to attend House after High Court order

The AAP MLAs present in the House welcomed the Speaker's decision by thumping the desks and chanted "Bharat Mata ki Jai".

published on : 23rd March 2018

AAP welcomes Delhi High Court order on office of profit case

The Aam Aadmi Party claimed that the Election Commission's decision was a "serious attempt to dislodge" an elected government.

published on : 23rd March 2018

Office of profit: Manish Sisodia writes open letter to Delhiites over AAP MLAs disqualification, BJP criticises move

Sisodia, in an open letter to the people of the city, on Monday sought support against the disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs on charges of holding "office of profit".

published on : 22nd January 2018

Office of profit: Why the haste to disqualify 20 AAP MLAs, asks Shiv Sena

In the case of AAP's 20 legislators, the EC has acted in haste, that is the opinion of even former ECI officials, and that too, without giving them an opportunity to present their case, Sena said.

published on : 22nd January 2018

AAP MLAs disqualification: God gave us 67 seats knowing this day was coming, says Arvind Kejriwal

Kejriwal's remarks came after President Ram Nath Kovind approved Election Commission's recommendation to disqualify 20 AAP MLAs on the charges of holding 'office of profit'.

published on : 21st January 2018

Office of profit: AAP to approach higher courts for justice

Minutes after 20 Aam Aadmi Party MLAs were disqualified from the Delhi Assembly, the party said they would approach the higher courts for justice.

published on : 21st January 2018

Yashwant, Shatrughan back AAP over MLAs' disqualification

Rebel BJP leaders Yashwant Sinha and Shatrughan Sinha today backed the AAP over the disqualification of its 20 MLAs.

published on : 21st January 2018
1 2 >