PHOTOS | Assembly elections results: Celebrations fill the air as BJP sweeps Gujarat

Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) appears headed for a record victory in Gujarat as trends available after five rounds of voting showed the party was leading in 156 of the state's 182 assembly seats that went to polls earlier this month.

published on : 8th December 2022

IN PICS | Marking 76th year of Independence, PM Modi dons turban in tune with tiranga

As India celebrates its 76th Independence Day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday addressed the nation from the historic Red Fort.

published on : 15th August 2022

IN PHOTOS | Droupadi Murmu becomes India's first tribal President amid celebrations across country

Droupadi Murmu, former Jharkhand governor and the BJP-led NDA's presidential candidate, who found many other backers along her campaign trail, has won an easy victory over the opposition's pick Yashwant Sinha.

published on : 19th July 2022

'Fascism', 'Jallianwala Bagh', 'Hitler': Lakhimpur Kheri farmers' killing leads to strong reactions by Opposition leaders

From Priyanka and Rahul Gandhi of Congress to Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Opposition leaders across India have strongly condemned the killing of farmers by a convoy that allegedly included the son of a minister and the UP government's decision to stop political leaders from entering Sitapur.  Here are some reactions you don't want to miss.

published on : 6th October 2021

Modi cabinet reshuffle: Here are the 11 women ministers now part of BJP's Union government

In the renewed NDA Council of Ministers, seven women were sworn in as ministers of state (MoS), while prominent leaders including Nirmala Sitharaman and Smriti Irani were retained. Read more about them here.

published on : 8th July 2021

'People gave you zero seats, stop spewing venom': Kerala politicians, actors back Prithviraj's 'Save Lakshadweep' comments

Malayalam actor Prithviraj is at loggerheads with BJP supporters on social media. Following his decision to back the #SaveLakshadweep campaign against the new law reforms introduced by Administrator Praful Patel on the island, he fell victim to an organised cyber-attack. However, more and more politicians and actors are coming out in support of the actor. From Ramesh Chennithala to Anoop Menon, here are some of the best reactions in support of Prithviraj.

published on : 28th May 2021

Prithviraj vs BJP IT Cell?: 'Save Lakshadweep' campaign gets louder as Mollywood reacts to cyber-attack against actor

Malayalam actor Prithviraj is at loggerheads with BJP supporters on social media. Following the 'Koode' actor's decision to back the #SaveLakshadweep campaign against the new law reforms introduced by Administrator Praful Patel on the island, he fell victim to an organised cyber-attack. Later, BJP leaders in Kerala also condemned the actor's post publicly, giving the incident a clearer political colour. However, several politicians and Prithviraj's colleagues from the film industry along with thousands of social media users have now launched a counter-campaign in support of the actor and the people of Lakshadweep. 

published on : 27th May 2021

And the Phalke Award goes to Thalaivar: The Superstar and his chemistry with bigwigs

With Superstar Rajinikanth being conferred the 51st Dadasaheb Phalke Award, here is a look at his equation with India's household names. 

published on : 2nd April 2021

Kerala assembly elections: BJP candidate list released, Metroman E Sreedharan, Suresh Gopi named among others 

BJP has announced candidates in the 115 seats the party is contesting in Kerala with state president K Surendran contesting in two constituencies. Here are 10 contenders who are among the party's best bets to increase their tally in the assembly.

published on : 14th March 2021

Twitter war: Who are the international celebrities supporting the farmers' protest in Delhi? Meet Rihanna's band of 'propagandists' here

Greta Thunberg, Mia Khalifa and US vice-president Kamala Harris's niece lawyer Meena Harris were among international celebrities who tweeted in support of the ongoing protest by Indian farmers against the Centre's Farm Laws. While the nation stands divided over foreigners extending support to India's internal issue, here are the major public figures who decided to rally behind the ongoing protest at the borders of Delhi. 

published on : 4th February 2021

Pinarayi Vijayan twice as popular as Oommen Chandy, LDF likely to return to power in Kerala: C-Voter ABP News Opinion Poll 

In a survey conducted by ABP News in collaboration with C-Voter, Pinarayi Vijayan-led LDF government is all set to beat anti-incumbency tides and retain power in the southern state. Here are the major predictions made by opinion poll.

published on : 19th January 2021

Bihar polls 2020: Here are 5 key issues that will make up the mind of voters

The Bihar Assembly elections 2020 has moved from one issue to another revealing many of them are inter linked and long-standing. With the elections happening post coronavirus outbreak, it has made the problems appear more critical. Here are 5 such issues upon which the population of Bihar will be voting on.

published on : 27th October 2020

Delhi polls: From Vijender Gupta to OP Sharma, meet the 8 BJP candidates who withstood the AAP sweep

As the Kejriwal storm shattered BJP's dreams of coming to power in the Capital, here are the eight men who will be the voice of the saffron party in Delhi Assembly.

published on : 12th February 2020

Bharat Bandh: Trade union stir against Centre's 'anti-worker policies' partially successful

A Bharat Bandh called by 10 central trade unions along with different federations is being organised to protest against 'anti-worker policies of BJP government'. Here are pictures from the 24-hour nationwide strike across India.

published on : 8th January 2020

Uttar Pradesh bypolls 2019: From SP's Tazeen Fatma to BJP's Surendra Maithani, here are all winners

The SP turned out to be a major gainer in the UP Assembly bypolls for 11 seats, wresting a seat each from the ruling BJP and the BSP, while the NDA got eight, one less than it held.

published on : 25th October 2019

Haryana elections: From tractors to cycles, politicians arrive in style to cast their votes

Check out pictures of politicians and sportspersons who exercised their franchise during the Haryana assembly elections.

published on : 21st October 2019

IN PICTURES | Farewell, Arun Jaitley: Leaders bridge political divide to bid adieu to Mr Dependable

Former finance minister Arun Jaitley was cremated at the Nigambodh Ghat in New Delhi with full State honours on 25 August 2019 in the presence of relatives, top leaders from across the political spectrum and scores of his admirers and party workers. We trace his final journey through photographs.

published on : 25th August 2019

Arun Jaitley: A walk down the memory lane

Former Union finance minister Arun Jaitley passed away at Delhi’s AIIMS on Saturday afternoon at 66 following a prolonged illness. Here's a glimpse at the life of the BJP stalwart captured in-camera.

published on : 24th August 2019

IN PHOTOS | Nation bids final farewell to People's Minister Sushma Swaraj

Hundreds of people, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and veteran party leader L K Advani, bid farewell to former external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj as her mortal remains were consigned to flames at the Lodhi Road crematorium in New Delhi on 7 August 2019.

published on : 7th August 2019

Explained: How well did star power work in Lok Sabha elections 2019?

Riding on their celebrity power, several film and TV celebrities won seats to the 17th Lok Sabha. However, some new star entrants like Prakash Raj and Urmila Matondkar suffered big defeats as well.

published on : 25th May 2019
1 2 >