Election Commission

EC announces seven-phase elections to five states including UP

The Election Commission has announced the dates for the upcoming Assembly elections on Saturday. It will be a seven-phase election which will kick-off with the first phase in UP on February 10.

published on : 8th January 2022

RIP TN Seshan: The man who cleaned up India's election

Former Chief Election Commissioner of India, TN Seshan passed away at his residence in Chennai on November 10.

published on : 11th November 2019

2019 Lok Sabha elections begin on April 11, results out on May 23

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and continue for over a month till May 19 across seven phases, followed by counting of votes on May 23, the Election Commission announced Sunday.

published on : 11th March 2019

ECI organises workshop for Radio Jockeys on voter awareness

The workshop was conducted to explain the Radio jockeys about the various processes that the Election Commission follows to make the voters aware.

published on : 31st January 2019

EVM used at London EVM Hackathon wasn’t of Election Commission: Former CEC Naveen Chawla

ECI’s EVMs are manufactured in secret conditions, and are being used since 2006.

published on : 23rd January 2019

AAP spokesman Raghav Chadha targeted the new EC OP Rawat

Aam Aadmi Party spokesman Raghav Chadha targeted the new Election Commissioner OP Rawat.

published on : 24th January 2018

Election Commission is working as PM Modi’s puppet: Congress leader

While addressing a press conference on Thursday Congress leader Randeep Surjewala took potshots on Prime Minister Narendra Modi, saying that Election Commission is working as Modi’s puppet. 

published on : 14th December 2017

Gujarat assembly election: Voting for Phase 2 begins

Voting for second phase of Gujarat election began on Thursday for 93 Gujarat assembly seats in 14 districts. 

published on : 14th December 2017

Tamil Nadu CM EPS Palanisamy’s united section wins the 2 leaf symbol

The Election Commission has granted the ‘two-leaves’ symbol to unified AIADMK, the faction of Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palanisamy and Deputy CM O Panneerselvam.

published on : 23rd November 2017

Election Commission’s EVM challenge to prove machines can’t be rigged underway

Election Commission’s EVM challenge to prove that the machines can’t be rigged is underway. However, only the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Communist Party of India (CPI) are participating.

published on : 3rd June 2017

AIADMK chief Dhinakaran reacts to arrest of alleged middleman in 'two leaves' case

TTV Dhinakaran reacts to the arrest of Sukesh Chandrasekhar,the alleged middleman suspected to have lent support to the former in the case of AIADMK's 'Two leaves' symbol' row.

published on : 17th April 2017

Electronic Voting Machine tampering to face blow with next generation machines

Amidst the talk of EVM tampering now the Election Commission has taken a call to buy next generation electronic voting machines that become inoperable when tampered with.

published on : 3rd April 2017