COVID-19 HIGHLIGHTS | Restriction on arriving flights from 6 cities to Kolkata airport extended upto August 15

The restriction on arriving flights to Kolkata Airport from 6 cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Chennai, Nagpur & Ahmedabad- has been extended.

Published: 30th July 2020 01:51 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st July 2020 01:55 AM   |  A+A-

A view of NSCBI Airport wearing a deserted as the flight services are suspended during a complete lockdown to curb the spread of coronavirus disease in Kolkata Wednesday July 29 2020. (Photo | PTI)

By Online Desk

As many as 52,123 fresh cases were registered within a span of 24-hours on Thursday, taking the total to 1,583,792 while the death toll rose to 34,968 from 34,193, according to the Union Health Ministry.

India's coronavirus caseload on Thursday was the highest tally recorded since March.

According to the new norms, which will be effective from August 1st, the night curfew has been removed and the gymnasiums and yoga training centres have been allowed to function from August 5, on the condition that a standard operating procedure (SOP) is followed.This apart, schools, colleges and coaching institutions will remain closed till August 31. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp