'Only 3 of 11 MP Cong Parliamentarians may Win' - The New Indian Express

'Only 3 of 11 MP Cong Parliamentarians may Win'

Published: 18th February 2014 07:57 AM

Last Updated: 18th February 2014 07:58 AM

A three-level survey carried out by the Congress in Madhya Pradesh has indicated that most of the 11 party MPs are on a very sticky wicket and may find it difficult to retain their seats in the forthcoming general elections.

Party workers handpicked by Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, Youth Congress activists and office-bearers of the Pradesh Congress Committee conducted three surveys to assess the party’s strength and weakness in various constituencies. As per the feedback received from the ground, only three present MPs are likely to win the polls.

Negative feedback has been received against MPs, including Mandsour MP Meenakshi Natarajan, against whom there is a strong resentment among party workers. The fact that she devoted very less time to her constituency is going to affect her chances, the surveys suggested.

Similarly, Dewas MP Sajjan Singh Verma, who has virtually opened a front against senior party leaders, is also said to be in a weak position.

Ujjain MP Premchand Guddu will find it very difficult to be reelected from the temple city as he too has been accused of not devoting enough time to his electorate.

Party spokesperson Pankaj Chaturvedi said:  “We have set a target of at least 22 seats in the state and for that we are taking inputs from various stakeholders to decide who the best candidate will be. The party will try to focus on youths, a final decision regarding which will be taken by the central election committee.”

The surveys show that Union minister and Guna MP Jyotiraditya Scindia have the brightest prospects among all the party lawmakers. Party state president and Khandwa MP Arun Yadav too is likely to retain his seat.

Similarly, Union minister Kamal Nath is also likely to retain his Chhindwara seat.

According to the feedback, former state Congress president Kantilal Bhuria, who presided over the Assembly election debacle, will also manage to win from Ratlam.

From Around the Web