Science Congress: 16 projects selected - The New Indian Express

Science Congress: 16 projects selected

Published: 06th December 2012 11:35 AM

Last Updated: 06th December 2012 11:35 AM

The two-day state-level Children’s Science Congress came to a close on Tuesday with 16 projects, including two from Thiruvananthapuram schools, being selected for the  20th edition of National Children’s Science Congress to be held at Varanasi duringDecember 27-31.

Sixty-seven projects by students from schools across the state were presented at the Congress with the budding scientists taking on the theme of ‘Energy: Explore, Harness and Conserve, and came up with innovative solutions for addressing the looming energy shortage. They showcased new ways for harnessing energy such as used oil, bio-waste and latex besides presenting lesser-known success stories and case studies of energy utilisation in various parts of Kerala.

Speaker G Karthikeyan, , who inaugurated the valedictory function, gave away awards to 16 best student projects selected for the national event. From 225 projects at the district level, 67 were identified to participate at the state level.

The event was held in two groups -junior (10-14years) and senior (14-17years). The winner schools at the senior level are, Carmel Girls High School, Thiruvananthapuram; P K High School, Mannapra, Palakkad; Salvation Army HSS, Thiruvananthapuram; GVHSS Omanoor, Malappuram; GVHSS Chelari, Malappuram; Govt HSS Konni, Pathanamthitta; GHSS Cheemeni, Kasargod; Chattanchal HSS, Kasargod; SVMM VHS, Vendar and GHSS Meenangadi, Wayanad.

In the junior group, SMV HSS Poonjar Kottayam; STHS Thudanganadu Idukki; Tharuvanatheru UP School, Kannur; TVT MHS Veliyam, Kollam; KPCHS Pattannur, Kannur and CBHS Vallikkunnu, Malappuram were declared as the winning schools.

The event was organised by Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment (KSCSTE) with the support of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India.

Also present at the valedictory function were VN Rajasekharan Pillai, Executive Vice President, KSCSTE & Principal Secretary, Science & Technology Department and CP Aravindakshan, Chairman, State Organising Committee of the Science Congress.

From Around the Web