Suvarna Film Awards Announced - The New Indian Express

Suvarna Film Awards Announced

Published: 04th June 2011 03:56 AM

Last Updated: 16th May 2012 08:55 PM

BANGALORE: The third Suvarna film awards was announced here on Friday. This year the Kannada film industry has released 132 films. The awards will be held in 29 categories with 150 nominees overall. The jury will comprise actor Dwarakish, actress Tara, journalist= Jogi and director Prakash. The star studded jury will elect 24 of the 29 awards. The remaining 5 awards are to be decided by the public.

The nominations under the Best Actor category are Vishnuvardhan, Ravichandran, Shivrajkumar, Puneet Rajkumar, Sudeep, Darshan, Ganesh and Vijay. The actresses nominated for the best actress category are Ramya, Radhika Pandit, Aindrita Ray, Priyamani, Ragini, Nidhi Subbaih and Pooja Gandhi. The films which are vying for the best film of the year award are Aptharakshaka, Jackie, Super, Mylari, Just Maat Maathalli, Pancharangi and Krishnana Love Story. The best director of the year 2010 will be decided among Yograj Bhat, Suri, Vasu.P, Sudeep,Upendra, Chandru, Shashank, Sadhu Kokila and Dwarki. In addition to this, a song will be adjudged the best of the year by the people of Karnataka.

Karnataka's Home Minister R Ashok will be inaugurating the start of a ballot that will travel through 15 districts of the state.

Also present on the occasion was Raghavendra Rajkumar,Mr Anup Chandrashekhar, business head of Suvarna channel and Raghavendra Honsur, programming head of Suvarna channel .

Raghavendra Rajkumar said, "I was very enthusiastic about the idea when they first approached me. I think the jury is well represented and they will ensure that the award goes to the best man/woman. I hope it achieves the status of the Filmfare awards one day." Mr Anup Chandrashekhar said that the main objective of the awards was to honour new talent and ensure that it is noticed.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt