West Indies wicketkeeper Ramdin banned for 2 ODIs - The New Indian Express

West Indies wicketkeeper Ramdin banned for 2 ODIs

Published: 11th June 2013 12:22 PM

Last Updated: 11th June 2013 12:22 PM

West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin was suspended for two one-day international matches after being found guilty Monday of breaching the ICC's code of conduct by claiming a catch he dropped during the Champions Trophy match against Pakistan.

Ramdin was also fined his match fee from Friday's Group B game and will miss the final two pool matches — against India on Tuesday and South Africa on Friday.

He was charged by the ICC with displaying "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game" by claiming a catch off Pakistan captain Misbah ul-Haq, with the batsman on 0. West Indies won the match by two wickets.

"I hope Mr. Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behavior by him or any player in the future," said Chris Broad, who is on the panel of ICC match referees.

Ramdin, who is West Indies' only specialist wicketkeeper in its 15-man squad, attended a hearing in London Monday after pleading not guilty but was handed the maximum punishment available to the ICC.

He has the right to appeal.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt