Timings of MEMUs included - The New Indian Express

Timings of MEMUs included

Published: 02nd July 2010 05:23 AM

Last Updated: 16th May 2012 08:27 PM

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The new railway timetable for Southern Railway comprising Thiruvananthapuram and Palakkad divisions which came into effect on Thursday features the timings of the MEMUs (Mainline Electric Multiple Units) and newly-proposed trains in the current budget, including Kozhikode-Thiruvananthapuram Jan Shatabdi Express.

 As per the timetable, MEMUs (eight car MEMU rake) will be operated between Ernakulam and Kollam on all days except Sundays. Ernakulam-Kollam (no 357) will depart at 2.45 p.m. and reach Kollam at 6.40 p.m. Kollam-Ernakulam (no 356) will leave at 10.05 a.m. and reach Ernakulam at 2.20 p.m.

 Ernakulam-Lokmanya Tilak Duronto Express (No 2224) will be operated biweekly on Wednesdays and Sundays at 9.30 p.m. The train will reach the destination on Thursdays and Mondays at 6.15 p.m. Lokmanya Tilak - Ernakulam (no.2223) will leave the source station on Tuesdays and Saturdays at 8.50 p.m. and will reach Ernakulam on Wednesdays and Sundays at 5.45 p.m.

 Kozhikode-Thiruvananthapuram Jan Shatabdi Express (No 2081/2082) via Kottayam will run five days a week. Kozhikode-Thiruvananthapuram (no  2081) will leave at 6.15 a.m. and will reach Thiruvananthapuram at 1.45 p.m. on all days except Wednesdays and Saturdays.  Thiruvananthapuram-Kozhikode (no 2082) will depart at 2.20 p.m. and will reach Kozhikode at 10.45 p.m. on all days except Tuesdays and Fridays. Both trains will have stops at Tirur, Shornur, Thrissur, Ernakulam Town, Kottayam, Kayamkulam and Kollam.

 However, the date of introduction of these trains are not given in the timetable.

Only the timings and days of service are provided. According to Railway officials, trains will be introduced as soon as the rakes are received. It will be completed in the current financial year itself, they added.

 Timings of Tiruchirapalli-Mangalore Central Express (weekly) via Podanur, Nagercoil-Bangalore Express (weekly) via Madurai-Hosur, Ernakulam-Pune Express (Bi-Weekly) via Panvel, Nilambur Road-Shornur passenger and Kozhikode-Kannur passenger (daily) are included in the timetable. As per the new time-table, the Mangalore-Nagercoil Ernad Express and Yeswantpur-Kannur Express will be operated daily.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt