Nation Pays Homage to Martyrs of Parliament Attack - The New Indian Express

Nation Pays Homage to Martyrs of Parliament Attack

Published: 14th December 2013 10:37 AM

Last Updated: 14th December 2013 10:37 AM

Members of Parliament on Friday paid tribute to the martyrs of the 2001 attack on the Parliament House.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and senior leaders of all parties joined the ceremony to offer their homage.

The leaders also observed a two minute silence for the deceased during the function inside  the Parliament House complex.

On December 13, 2001, five gunmen had stormed into the Parliament complex and opened indiscriminate fire. Five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force(CRPF) official, two parliament watch and ward staff members and a gardener were killed in the firing. A journalist, who was injured, died later.

The police personnel posted in the Parliament was able to kill all the five assailants.

The Delhi Police arrested four accused, including Afzal Guru, conspiracy behind the attack. Guru was hanged in February this year.

Those present at Friday’s remembrance function included UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, Leaders of Opposition in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley and MPs from various parties.

‘Memorial Needed’

Upset over restrictions on their entry for paying homage to the martyrs, their family members  demanded that they be alloted land outside the high-security complex to build a memorial.

The families said that after boycotting the ceremony for all these years to press for convict Afzal Guru’s hanging, they were looking forward to join the memorial service on Friday, but decided against it as only one of the relatives of the martyrs was being allowed inside by Parliament officials.

From Around the Web