Ravi, Murali groups ignored in jumbo KPCC list - The New Indian Express

Ravi, Murali groups ignored in jumbo KPCC list

Published: 25th December 2012 12:06 PM

Last Updated: 25th December 2012 12:06 PM

The much-awaited revamp of the Congress in the state was announced on Monday with four vice-presidents, 21 general secretaries and 42 joint secretaries figuring in the list of KPCC office-bearers. The names suggested by K Muraleedharan and Vayalar Ravi have been excluded from the list.

The ‘A’ and ‘I’ groups got seven DCCs each. Ramesh Chennithala will continue as the KPCC president.

The vice-presidents are M M Hassan (‘A’ group), Bharathipuram Sasi (fourth group), Lali Vincent (‘I’ group) and A K Mani (backward class). Karakulam Krishnan Pillai will be the treasurer.

The DCC presidents belonging to the ‘I’ group are K Mohankumar (Thiruvananthapuram), A A Shukkoor (Alappuzha), V J Paulose (Eranakulam), K Surendran (Kannur), K L Paulose (Wayanad), C K Sreedharan (Kasargod) and C V Balachandran (Palakkad).

The DCC chiefs of the ‘A’ group are Prathapa Varma Thampan (Kollam), P Mohanaraj (Pathanamthitta), Tomy Kallani (Kottayam), Roy K Paulose (Idukki), E Muhammed Kunji (Malappuram), K C Abu (Kozhikode) and Abdurahman Kutty (Thrissur).

The general secretaries are Thampanoor Ravi, Sooranad Rajashekaran, C R Jayaprakash, Padmaja Venugopal, B Babu Prasad, P M Suresh Babu, K P Kunhikannan, T P Hassan, P Ramakrishnan, G Bhuvaneshwaran, S Subramanyam, K P Anil Kumar, T Sidique, T Sarat Chandra Prasad, Lathika Subash, Suma Balakrishnan, V A Naryanan, Valsala Prasanna Kumar, M P Jackson, K M I Mather and Sajeev Jospeh.

The list also invited criticism from the K Muraleedharan and Vayalar Ravi camps as the names suggested by the two senior leaders were excluded from the list. Also, former general secretary and ‘I’ group leader  Satheesan Pacheni did not figure in the new list.

In Thrissur, Abdurahman Kutty’s nomination as DCC president evoked protests from a section of leaders who wanted an ‘I’ group nominee there.

Muraleedharan said he does not expect any justice when Chennithala is the PCC president. “Since the high command has accepted the list, I don’t want to rake up any controversy,” he added.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt