Dubai Test: Pakistan Out Cheaply, Lanka 57-1 - The New Indian Express

Dubai Test: Pakistan Out Cheaply, Lanka 57-1

Published: 08th January 2014 07:14 PM

Last Updated: 08th January 2014 07:14 PM

Sri Lanka's fast bowlers exploited Pakistan's weakness against seam bowling by dismissing the home side for 165 to take control of the second test on the first day Wednesday.

Sri Lanka was 57-1 in reply, trailing by only 108 runs.

Dimuth Karunaratne hit seven fours in a quickfire 32 before he fell to Junaid Khan but Kaushal Silva and Kumar Sangakkara guided Sri Lanka to stumps, with both on 12.

Nuwan Pradeep, with only three wickets in his last four tests, led the attack and took 3-62 with excellent backup from Shaminda Eranga, 2-25, and Suranga Lakmal, 2-45, after captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to field.

Pakistan opener Khurram Manzoor stood out with a gritty 73 in 3 1/2 hours before he succumbed in a sensational collapse, as Pakistan lost eight wickets for 58 runs.

Rangana Herath polished off the tail with 3-26.

Pakistan 1st Innings

Khurram Manzoor c PJayawardene b Lakmal 73

Ahmed Shehzad lbw b Pradeep 3

Mohammad Hafeez b Pradeep 21

Younis Khan c PJayawardene b Eranga 13

Misbah-ul-Haq c PJayawardene b Eranga 1

Asad Shafiq c Silva b Lakmal 6

Sarfraz Ahmed c PJayawardene b Pradeep 7

Bilawal Bhatti not out 24

Saeed Ajmal c Silva b Herath 8

Rahat Ali lbw b Herath 0

Junaid Khan lbw b Herath 2

Extras: (7lb) 7

TOTAL: (all out) 165

Overs: 63.5.

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-78, 3-107, 4-109, 5-118, 6-127, 7-129, 8-151, 9-151, 10-165

Bowling: Suranga Lakmal 21-6-45-2, Shaminda Eranga 14-4-25-2, Nuwan Pradeep 18-2-62-3, Rangana Herath 10.5-3-26-3.

Sri Lanka 1st Innings

Dimuth Karunaratne lbw b JKhan 32

Kaushal Silva not out 12

Kumar Sangakkara not out 12

Extras: (1lb) 1

TOTAL: (for 1 wicket) 57

Overs: 16.

Fall of wicket: 1-40

Still to bat: Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.

Bowling: Junaid Khan 7-1-26-1, Rahat Ali 7-1-28-0, Saeed Ajmal 1-1-0-0, Bilawal Bhatti 1-0-2-0.

Toss: Sri Lanka.


More on Cricket Click Here

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt