Union ministers from Seemandhra split on caste lines - The New Indian Express

Union ministers from Seemandhra split on caste lines

Published: 31st August 2013 08:21 AM

Last Updated: 31st August 2013 11:32 AM

A split along caste lines seems to have surfaced among the nine Union ministers from Seemandhra over the issue of opposing their party’s decision to bifurcate the state.

SC and ST ministers _ V Kishore Chandra Deo, JD Seelam and Panabaka Lakshmi _ are understood to have decided to strictly abide by their party high command’s decision to form Telangana state as they think that it would help their respective communities gain political power.

Of the remaining ministers belonging to forward communities, Kavuri Sambasiva Rao, MM Pallam Raju, D Purandeswari and Kotla Jaya Surya Prakash Reddy are planning to write a letter to party supremo Sonia Gandhi to request her to reconsider the party’s decision whereas K Chiranjeevi and Killi Krupa Rani are undecided. 

A day after the leaders of APNGOs had come down heavily on them for not resigning from the cabinet in support of the ongoing Samaikyandhra movement, differences cropped up on Friday among the nine ministers   over resigning. Six ministers _ Kavuri, Purandeswari, Pallam Raju, Chiranjeevi, Kotla and Krupa Rani _ sent feelers on Friday that they would write a letter to their party supremo on Monday to request her to reverse the party’s decision.

According to sources, in that letter they  would tell their boss that if the party did not reconsider its decision to bifurcate the state, they would have no option but to quit their posts.

The three others _ Kishore Chandra Deo, Panabaka Lakshmi and Seelam _ who are from SC and ST communities, have decided not to endorse this letter. Interestingly,  Chiranjeevi and Krupa Rani are said to be undecided on signing the proposed letter.

The Union ministers and Congress MPs from Seemandhra had earlier thought of holding a meeting on Friday but they could not meet as the ministers were busy in Parliament.

They decided to meet on Monday to chalk out their future course of action on how to persuade their party high command to reconsider its T-decision.

MPs to Meet Sonia, Antony

Congress MPs held an informal meeting in Delhi on Friday and decided to submit a memorandum to their party boss on Monday or Tuesday seeking a rethink on bifurcation. They also decided to meet the Antony committee along with Union ministers on Tuesday to make a PowerPoint presentation on the concerns of Seemandhra people.

Talking with reporters later, Kanumuri Bapiraju said, “We are not reluctant to resign but we are trying to utilise our positions to convince our party high command on the need for a second look on its decision to bifurcate the state. If we feel that our efforts are not getting the desired results, we will not hesitate to quit.”

The Split

Six of the nine have decided to write to Sonia but two of them, Chiru and Killi, have become hesitant. Kishore, Seelam and Panabaka have steadfastly refused to sign the letter.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt