Upper House to See Eclectic Mix of Faces - The New Indian Express

Upper House to See Eclectic Mix of Faces

Published: 26th January 2014 08:10 AM

Last Updated: 26th January 2014 08:10 AM

Come February 7, the biennial polls to the Rajya Sabha will pave the way for many new faces in the Upper House of Parliament.

From a district women’s wing secretary of a political party to a painter, journalists, advocates and actors, 55 members will enter the precincts of the Council of States, along with veteran politicians, to create a balance in the composition of the House of Elders.

Maratha strongman and NCP supremo Sharad Pawar and three-time former chief minister of Delhi Sheila Dikshit will enter the Rajya Sabha for the first time. Congress leaders such as Motilal Vora (85); Rishang Keishing (93), the first Lok Sabha member from Manipur and party veteran Murli Deora will continue to be members of the Rajya Sabha.

The terms of 55 members end in April. Interestingly, despite the polls, whoever forms the next government at the Centre will not have a majority in the Rajya Sabha. With the BJP and Congress unlikely to increase their tally, regional parties will walk away with most of the seats.

For the six seats from Tamil Nadu that will go to polls, the ruling AIADMK has fielded new faces for the four seats it could win -S Muthukrishnan (Tirunelveli city district secretary), L Sasikala Pushpa (party’s women’s wing secretary), Vijila Sathyanand (party’s Tirunelveli city district women’s wing secretary) and former minister A K Selvaraj.

Of the six seats in West Bengal, the ruling Trinamool Congress has fielded three new faces and renominated industrialist K D Singh. The party has fielded Bollywood star Mithun Chakraborty, painter Jogen Chowdhury and editor of a Kolkata daily Ahmad Hassan, making the contest critical for the sixth seat.

The CPM, which is fast losing its strength in the Rajya Sabha, has fielded SFI general secretary Ritabrata Banerjee as the Left Front candidate for the fifth seat. However, CPM and Congress have come together to sponsor academician Hossainnur Rahman as an independent candidate for the sixth seat.

In Bihar, the JD(U) has fielded all new faces for three seats — Ramnath Thakur, son of former chief minister and socialist leader Karpoori Thakur; Praveen, former mayor of Bhagalpur; and Harivansh, editor-in-chief of a Hindi daily.

In Maharashtra, the NCP has fielded advocate Majid Memon, besides Pawar for the two seats it could win. Congress is set to renominate Deora and the second seat is to be decided between Mohan Prakash and retiring member Husain Umar Dalwai. BJP and Shiv Sena will get one seat each and Shiv Sena had already renominated retiring member Rajkumar Dhoot. 

Election to seventh seat seems to have become critical.

The BJP is not lagging behind in sending new faces to the Rajya Sabha. It has fielded business tycoon R K Sinha from Bihar. Dalit leader and seven-time Lok Sabha member from Madhya Pradesh, Dr Satyanarayan Jatiya, is all set to enter the Upper House for the first time. Jatiya was a Cabinet minister in the NDA government.

From Rajasthan, the BJP dropped two of its retiring members Prakash Mathur and Gyan Prakash Pilania, and instead gave tickets to party leaders Ram Narayan Dudi and Narayan Panchariya.

From Delhi, both the BJP and Congress are trying to accommodate their leaders in the Upper House. While the BJP has fielded Delhi party chief Vijay Goel from Rajasthan, the Congress is trying to accommodate Dikshit either from Himachal Pradesh or Jharkhand.

The BJP is yet to declare the names of candidates for three vacant seats in Gujarat and one each in Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh. The names of former member S S Ahluwalia and party spokesperson Nirmala Sitharaman are doing the rounds for these seats. BJP spokesperson Prakash Javadekar, whose term also ends, may also be fielded.

In Odisha, the ruling BJD is also fielding all new faces this time. Of the four seats, the BJD can win three and has sponsored noted architect and sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra for the fourth seat. Though the party is still to announce its list of candidates, new names such as Kalpataru Das, Western Odisha Development Council chairperson Padmini Sekhar Deo and N Bhaskar Rao have reportedly been selected by BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

The most interesting elections will be in volatile Andhra Pradesh wherein the ruling Congress is facing a serious rebellion in the wake of the Telangana Bill. Of the six seats, Congress - going by the strength - will get three and TDP two. The party has offered the sixth seat to TRS and is likely to renominate K V P Ramachander Rao, Ratna Bai and M A Khan.

SMK, hariprasad to retire in June

Bangalore: Four Rajya Sabha members from Karnataka, including former chief minister S M Krishna, will be retiring on June 25. Besides Krishna, AICC general secretary B K Hariprasad, former Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court Rama Jois (BJP) and KLE president Prabhakar Kore of the BJP will also retire. Hariprasad, who is reportedly not being favoured for a renomination by the Congress, is said to be keen on contesting the Lok Sabha polls. His name has been shortlisted for two constituencies - North Canara and Bangalore North.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt