Padmarajan award announced - The New Indian Express

Padmarajan award announced

Published: 03rd May 2013 10:57 AM

Last Updated: 03rd May 2013 10:57 AM

The 21st Padmarajan award, 2012, for film and short story instituted by the Padmarajan Memorial Trust was announced here on Thursday.

The award for best film went to  ‘Chayilyam’  directed by Manoj Kana.  The award comprises a cash award of Rs 20,000 and citation for the director and Rs 10,000 and citation for the screenwriter.  The director has done the screenwriting also. The film has been produced by Priyesh Kumar, who will get a citation.

‘Chayilyam’ was selected by the jury headed by K R Mohanan with Ramachandra Babu and Gandhimathi Balan as members.

The other films competing for the award were ‘Ozhimuri’, ‘Celluloid’, ‘Shutter’ and ‘Kaliyachan’. The female centric movie was filmed in the backdrop of Theyyam,  a ritualistic art form in North Kerala.

‘Play Station,  a short story written by E K Sheeba, won the Padmarajan award for the best short story in Malayalam.  The short story was published in 2012.  The award comprises a prize money of Rs 10,000 and citation.

The award winner was chosen by a jury chaired by Jayachandran Nair with Kerala State Chalachitra Academy secretary K Manoj Kumar and K Y Radhalakshmi as  members.

Both awards will be presented on May 23,  the day on which the birth anniversary of Padmarajan falls.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt