Historic Voter Turnout in Raj Assembly Polls at 75.27 Percent - The New Indian Express

Historic Voter Turnout in Raj Assembly Polls at 75.27 Percent

Published: 02nd December 2013 03:34 PM

Last Updated: 02nd December 2013 04:04 PM

Rajasthan districts bordering Pakistan, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab recorded an increase in voter turnout in the Assembly polls which witnessed a historic turnout of 75.2 per cent.

The state's highest ever recorded turnout far exceeded 2008 Assembly poll's 66.39 per cent turnout.            

Jaisalmer recorded 85.26 per cent polling, Hanumangarh - 84.93 per cent, Ganganagar - 83.93 per cent, Banswara - 81.62 per cent, Chittorgarh - 81.44 per cent, Jhalawar - 80.63 per cent, Pratapgarh - 80.14 per cent, Baran - 78.35 per cent, Dholpur -77.25 per cent, Churu - 76.98 per cent, Alwar - 77.49 per cent and Bikaner 75.65 per cent, according to Chief Electoral Officers' final tally today.

Pali recorded a minimum poll turnout of 66.23 per cent followed by Sirohi 69.59 per cent.         

Out of over 4.08 crore voters, over 3.01 cr voters have exercised their franchise. Female voter turnout (75.33 per cent) was more than male voters (75.03 per cent).       

939 blind voters used brail signeage facility and 16,688 other blind persons cast votes with the help of their companions.   

As per EC statistics, voters turnout as compared to 2008 elections has increased in 31 out of 33 districts in the state.  

The 14th State Legislative Assembly polls were held in 199 out of 200 constituencies in 33 districts of the state in which poll fortune of 2087 candidates, including Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and BJP state President Vasundhara Raje, was sealed in EVMs.      

The polling went off peacefully except for some police firing in the air at a few places to restore calm. A pick up van was also set ablaze and reports of attempt to capture a booth and malfunctioning of EVMs were reported from some places, officials said.

Polling in Churu constituency was adjourned following BSP candidate Jagdish Meghwal's death and it would

Meanwhile, in an interesting coincidence of figures, Bhilwara recorded a total poll turnout of 76.89 per cent of which 76.89 per cent of males, and the same percentage of female voters exercised their franchise, a CEO report said.     

There were 7,48,388 male and 7,06,128 female voters.

[View Gallery: Enthusiastic Turnout For Rajasthan Polls]

Following is Rajasthan assembly's final poll percentage


1. Ganganagar 83.93 per cent

2. Hanumangarh  84.93 per cent

3. Bikaner 75.65 per cent

4. Churu 76.98 per cent

5. Jhunjhunu 73.79 per cent

6. Sikar 74.41 per cent

7. Jaipur 74.24 per cent

8. Alwar 77.49 per cent

9. Bharatpur 72.31 per cent

10.Dholpur 77.25 per cent

11.Kaurali 68.93 per cent

12.Dausa 74.79 per cent

13.Sawaimadhopur71.12 per cent

14.Tonk 73.04 per cent

15.Ajmer 74.10 per cent

16.Nagaur 73.23 per cent

17.Pali 66.23 per cent

18.Jodhpur 71.39 per cent

19.Jaisalmer 85.26 per cent

20.Barmer 77.62 per cent

21.Jalore 70.50 per cent

22.Sirohi 69.59 per cent

23.Udaipur 74.02 per cent

24.Dungapur 75.44 per cent

25.Banswara 81.62 per cent

26 Chittoregarh 81.44 per cent

27.Rajsamand 74.47 per cent

28.Bhilwara 76.89 per cent

29.Bundi 76.29 per cent

30.Kota 75.29 per cent

31.Baran 78.35 per cent

32.Jhalawar 80.63 per cent

33.Pratapgarh 80.14 per cent

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt