Another BJP MLA to join KJP - The New Indian Express

Another BJP MLA to join KJP

Published: 03rd April 2013 12:16 PM

Last Updated: 03rd April 2013 12:16 PM

Notwithstanding his confidants deserting him, former chief minister and Karnataka Janata Party president B S Yeddyurappa continues to make BJP MLAs resign and join him.

A day after MLC Mohan Limbikai resigned to join the KJP, it was the turn of Jagalur MLA S V Ramachandra on Tuesday. The MLA, who had joined the BJP in ‘Operation Lotus’ two years ago, announced his decision to join the KJP and contest the May 5 Assembly polls. Ramachandra had joined the BJP after resigning his MLA seat, which he had won on a Congress ticket. He got re-elected on a BJP ticket in the by-polls.

With this, four out of the seven BJP MLAs in Davanagere district — B P Harish, Madal Virupakshappa, M P Renukacharya and Ramachandra — have joined the KJP ranks, reducing the BJP’s influence in the region. Another Yeddyurappa follower and BJP MLC Shivarj Sajjanar is scheduled to join the KJP this week.

Meanwhile, there were reports of Housing Minister V Somanna also joining the KJP and contesting from Hanur Assembly seat in Chamarajanagar district. Speaking to Express, Somanna dismissed the reports, saying that he would stay in the BJP.

In other related developments in the BJP, Industries Minister Murgesh Nirani, who was considering joining the KJP, met BJP president Prahalad Joshi in Hubli and expressed his desire to continue in the party. He, however, is said to have asked for a ticket from Jamakhandi instead of Biligi Assembly Constituency, which he now represents.

Later, Joshi told reporters that Nirani would contest from Biligi on a BJP ticket.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt